Roy Haynes Quartet – Out Of The Afternoon (1962) [APO Remaster 2010] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Roy Haynes Quartet – Out Of The Afternoon (1962) [APO Remaster 2010]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 37:20 minutes | Scans included | 1,51 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 727 MB

Out of the Afternoon is a splendid sounding 1962 set from the Roy Haynes Quartet — which, at the time, consisted of Haynes, Henry Grimes on bass, Tommy Flanagan on piano, and Roland Kirk on saxes, manzello, stritch, and flutes. The album is a delightful mix of techniques in arrangement and performance, with all of the musicians delivering terrific work. Haynes’ drumming is absolutely wonderful here, lightly dancing around the other instruments; Flanagan’s piano playing is equally light and delicate; Grimes’ bass work is outstanding (during “Raoul” you have a chance to hear one of the few bowed bass solos on records of that era); and there’s no more to be said about Kirk’s sax and flute work that hasn’t been said a hundred times, apart from the fact that the flute solos on “Snap Crackle” help this cut emerge as particularly outstanding.


01. Moon Ray
02. Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words)
03. Raoul
04. Snap Crackle
05. If I Should Lose You
06. Long Wharf
07. Some Other Spring

Roy Haynes – drums
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Henry Grimes – bass
Rahsaan Roland Kirk – tenor saxophone, flute, percussion



%d bloggers like this: