Roy Haynes – Love Letters (2002) [Japan] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Roy Haynes – Love Letters (2002) [Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:23 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,27 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,1 GB

Roy Haynes is a legendary drummer who’s had a very long and illustrious career, and he is still going strong with incredible energy and vitality. For this album – now considered a classic – Eighty-Eight’s producer Yasohachi Itoh put together an all-star, intergenerational band around him: Kenny Barron and David Kikoski on piano, Dave Holland and Christian McBride on bass, Joshua Redman on sax and John Scofield on guitar.

These all-stars were all eager to play with Haynes, and their joy of making music together is infectious. Recorded by the legendary engineer David Baker in pure DSD and produced as a hybrid SACD, the sound quality of this disc is exemplary. Strongly recommended to jazz fans and audiophiles!

Originally released in Japan on producer Yasohachi Itoh’s 88 label, Columbia has licensed several titles from the audiophile label, including this one from veteran hard bop/new thing drummer Roy Haynes. Love Letters gathers an all-star roster, including pianists Kenny Barron and David Kikoski, bassists Dave Holland and Christian McBride, tenor player Joshua Redman, and guitarist John Scofield for a thoroughly solid set of standards. Even as he approaches his eighth decade, Haynes continues to display the drive that has made him an in-demand timekeeper since his tenure with Charlie Parker and Bud Powell. It’s evident throughout the entire album, from the rock-ist suggestions of Mongo Santamaria’s “Afro Blue” to the poignant take on Horace Silver’s “Que Pasa.” All of the groupings have their shining moments, but Haynes with Holland and Scofield is a combination that demands to be documented further. Recommended.


01. The Best Thing for You
02. That Old Feeling
03. Afro Blue
04. Que Pasa?
05. How Deep Is the Ocean
06. Love Letters
07. My Shining Hour
08. Stompin’ at the Savoy
09. Shades of Senegal 2

Roy Haynes – drums
Kenny Barron – piano
Dave Holland – bass
David Kikoski – piano
Christian McBride – bass
Joshua Redman – tenor sax
John Scofield – guitar

Produced by Produced by Roy Haynes and Yasohachi “88” Itoh. Engineered by David Baker.
DSD Recording. Recorded on on May 23 and 23, 2002 at Avatar Studio, New York.
Mastered By Koji “C-chan” Suzuki at Sony Music Studios, Tokyo, Japan.



%d bloggers like this: