Rob Agerbeek Trio – The Very Thought Of You (2005) [Japan 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Rob Agerbeek Trio – The Very Thought Of You (2005) [Japan 2018]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 48:50 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,96 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,01 GB

Rob Agerbeek is an Indo Dutch boogie-woogie and jazz pianist and winner of several jazz concourses in the Netherlands in the late 1950s. He is regarded as one of Europe’s finest jazz pianists, covering the full spectrum of jazz styles from his early days of Boogie-woogie to Chicago traditional Jazz, swing and contemporary jazz.

Rob Agerbeek is a Dutch pianist who has worked with the Dutch Jazz Orchestra and also American tenor saxophonist George Coleman, though he has had relatively little exposure in North America. This trio date features his regular band with bassist Harry Emmery and drummer Ben Schroeder. Agerbeek approaches the session as a jack-of-all-trades, delving into hard bop, bop, soul-jazz, and Latin, along with standards. His enthusiastic arrangement of Leon Russell’s often placid ‘This Masquerade’ blends influences from Red Garland, Harold Mabern, and others, while his dreamy take of Django Reinhardt’s ‘Nuages’ is understated with a small degree of playfulness. Agerbeek’s driving hard bop setting of Dizzy Gillespie’s ‘Birks Works’ features a superb solo by Emmery, while his take of the trumpeter’s ‘Tin Tin Deo’ crackles with energy as well. Yet one of the best tracks is his buoyant setting of pianist David Hazeltine’s ‘Waltzing at Suite One,’ with Schroeder starting with brushes and switching to sticks as the performance gains steam. Producer Tetsuo Hara obviously saw potential in the veteran pianist’s music, so expect to hear more from Rob Agerbeek on the Venus label.


01. Besame Mucho
02. This Masquerade
03. Birks Works
04. Trouble In Mind
05. Once I Loved
06. Waltzing At Suite One
07. Sometime I Feel Like A Motherless Child
08. Alone Together
09. Nuages
10. Tin Tin Deo
11. The Very Thought of You

Rob Agerbeek – piano
Harry Emmery – bass
Ben Schroder – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Max Bolleman.
Recorded on July 6 & 7, 2005 at Studio 44 in Monster Holland.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-281.



%d bloggers like this: