Richie Beirach Trio – No Borders (2002) [Japan 2003] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Richie Beirach Trio – No Borders (2002) [Japan 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 69:28 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,26 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,23 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 655 MB

No Borders focuses on classical pieces as a basis for improvisation, and, on the other hand, also contains a completely composed original composition by Beirach: “Steel Prayers”, a piece for the victims of 9/11. To take classical pieces and open them for improvisation, without depriving them of their character, is also the basic principle in the cooperation with violinist Gregor Hübner.

Pianist Richie Beirach’s jazzification of classical melodies written by Schumann, Beethoven, Satie, Faure and Debussy. With the great support by George Mraz and Billy Hart, Beirach’s performance here is by turns swinging, romantic and melancholic. Guest violinist Gregor Huebner appears on two tracks. The final tune is an aching original by Beirach called “Steel Prayers – Ballad for 9/11 WTC” commemorating the 9/11 tragedy which had taken place nine months before the recording.


01. Schumann: Scenes From Childhood – Op.15 #1
02. Beethoven: Pathetique – Slow movement in C minor
03. Satie: Gnossienne #1 in F minor
04. Faure: Pavane in G minor
05. Debussy: Footprints In The Snow
06. Bach: Siciliano in G minor
07. Mompou: Impressions Intimas – #1 in A minor
08. Chopin: Prelude For Piano #4 in E minor
09. Beirach: Steel Prayers – Ballad for 9/11 WTC

Richie Beirach – piano
George Mraz – bass
Billy Hart – drums
Gregor Hübner – violin on “5 & 9”

Produced Tetsuo Hara and Todd Barkan. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on May 7-8, 2002 at The Studio in New York. Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # TKGV-15.




%d bloggers like this: