Return To Forever – Musicmagic (1977) [Reissue 2017] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Return To Forever – Musicmagic (1977) [Reissue 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 41:54 minutes | Scans included | 1,83 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 834 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # CDSML 8528 | Genre: Jazz

Musicmagic is Return to Forever’s seventh and final studio album and one of the best jazz recordings released in the fusion genre. The album contains the final line-up of the band with only founders Chick Corea and Stanley Clarke returning from the previous recordings. This 1977 release was the first Return to Forever album in five years to contain vocals, performed here by Corea’s future wife Gayle Moran and the surprisingly enjoyable Stanley Clarke. This album also marked the return of original member Joe Farrell on saxophone and flute, along with several new members making up a killer five-piece horn section. This reissue features the original quadrophonic mix remastered from the original master tapes.

The sound is remarkably more orchestral than anything the group had previously done, a cross between fusion, jazz vocals, big band and grassroots acoustic jazz. Musicmagic celebrates the pure joy of music with contributions from Corea (“The Musician”), Moran (the existential jazz ballad “Do You Ever”), Corea and Moran together (“Musicmagic” and “The Endless Night”) and Clarke (“Hello Again” and the album’s single greatest moment, “So Long Mickey Mouse,” offering particularly great spots for Farrell’s flute and soprano, Corea’s keyboard kaleidoscope and Clarke’s entrancing bass). Musicmagic is eclectic and adventurous and filled with a great sense of accomplishment. The album reached #4 on the Billboard Jazz chart and the new Return to Forever doesn’t lose a beat when compared to the earlier recordings.


01. The Musician
02. Hello Again
03. Musicmagic
04. So Long Mickey Mouse
05. Do You Ever
06. The Endless Night

Chick Corea – keyboards
Stanley Clarke – electric bass, acoustic bass, vocals
Gayle Moran – vocals, piano, organ
Joe Farrell – saxophone, flute
Gerry Brown – drums
James E. Pugh – trombone
Harold Garret – trombone
John Thomas – trumpet, flugelhorn
James Tinsley – trumpet, piccolo

Remastered from original analogue tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: