Ray Brown, John Clayton, Christian Mcbride – SuperBass 2 (2001) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Ray Brown, John Clayton, Christian Mcbride – SuperBass 2 (2001)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:15 minutes | Basic Scans included | 3,46 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Streo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Basic Scans included | 1,15 GB
Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound | Telarc # SACD-63483

On their own, bassists Ray Brown, John Clayton, and Christian McBride are three of the most talented musicians in jazz today. But, performing together as Superbass, the trio becomes a sublime ensemble, capable of inventive, virtuosic playing with no accompaniment needed or wanted from horns or percussion. Recorded live at the Blue Note club in New York over the course of a couple of sets in December 2000, this disc joyously defies logic–who knew that the upright bass was capable of singing solos from Porgy and Bess?–and standard musical conventions. Together, these guys produce a tender take “My Funny Valentine,” an upbeat version of “Get Happy,” and a funky Latin jazz number (“Taco with a Pork Chop”) that would do Willie Bobo proud. All the while, the threesome is having a great time and taking plenty of solo turns. They’ve done this routine before–on the first live Superbass disc–but this one takes the cake; the playing is incredible.

In the liner notes to the initial CD Super Bass (recorded for Capri), Ray Brown assured that the next Super Bass release would be twice as good. He lives up to the promise, as he and John Clayton are joined by the young bass sensation Christian McBride this time. Although Brown is the senior statesman of the trio and hatched the conception of Super Bass, all three men equally share the solos, as well as the arranging and choosing of songs. Brown’s contributions include a trio of imaginatively arranged, time-tested standards from Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess as well as the group’s lively signature theme and the campy “Taco With a Pork Chop” (which adds percussionists George Gludas and Larry Fuller). McBride’s chart of “Get Happy” is a delightful swinger, while his pulsating rendition of the Temptations’ “Papa Was a Rolling Stone” is a definite crowd pleaser that inspires the audience to sing along. Clayton’s very effective treatment of “Mysterioso” has the trio alternating between plucked and arco bass; his funky “Three by Four” also proves very infectious upon its first hearing. Brown’s comments in the midst of many of these performances gives the listener the feeling he or she is witnessing a private jam session between three old friends.


01. Super Bass Theme
02. Get Happy
03. Mysterioso
04. Papa Was A Rolling Stone
05. Summertime
06. I Loves You Porgy
07. It Ain’t Necessarily So
08. Birk’s Works
09. My Funny Valentine
10. Three By Four
11. Taco With A Pork Chop
12. Super Bass Theme

Recorded live at the Blue Note, New York City.
On this recording Ray Brown is heard in the center, John Clayton is heard on the left, and Christian McBride is heard on the right.







%d bloggers like this: