Phil Woods Quintet – Ballads & Blues (2009) [Japan 2014] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Phil Woods Quintet – Ballads & Blues (2009) [Japan 2014]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 62:19 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,05 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,81 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 802 MB

One of the best living alto saxophone players, Phil Woods returned to Venus Records for the first time in six years with his star-studded quintet which includes Brian Lynch and Bill Charlap. Recorded in 2008, Ballads & Blues also represents Woods’ first composer’s songbook dedicated to Billy Strayhorn. Choosing predominantly slow and medium tempos, Woods shines with his big, warm and expressive tone, soulful blues feel and wailing melancholy. The supporting cast is also superb. This album will be remembered as one of Woods’ best.


01. Blood Count
02. Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
03. Balcony Serenade
04. Isfahan
05. Ballad Medley – I Didn’t Know About You – Lotus Blossom – Don’t You Know I Care
06. How Little We Know
07. Ballad For Very Tired And Very Sad Lotus Eaters
08. Lush Life
09. My Little Brown Book
10. Rain Check
11. Jonny Come Lately
12. Take The “A” Train

Phil Woods – alto sax
Brian Lynch – trumpet
Bill Charlap – piano
Steve Gilmore – bass
Bill Goodwin – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on June 20 & 21, 2008 at at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-26.




%d bloggers like this: