Peter Bernstein – Stranger In Paradise (2004) [Japan 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Peter Bernstein – Stranger In Paradise (2004) [Japan 2016]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 65:49 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,67 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,34 GB

Peter Bernstein and his guitar join together with Brad Mehldau on piano, Larry Genadier on bass and Bill Stewart on drums to complile a 10-track SACD that features Bernstein originals “Venus Blues” and “Just A Thought” as well as jazz staples from Phillip Springer, Harry Warren and many more.

Guitarist Peter Bernstein is reunited with pianist Brad Mehldau once more (their fourth recording together under Bernstein’s name) and also keeps the rhythm section intact from his earlier Criss Cross CD Heart’s Content, with Larry Grenadier on bass and drummer Bill Stewart. These rewarding sessions blend elements of hard bop and post-bop, including an intriguing, slightly off-center approach to “Stranger in Paradise” and an intricate, moving interpretation of “This Is Always,” a ballad that can become stale in the wrong hands. The quartet also tackles quite a few works that don’t get all that much attention, like a greasy arranging of Babs Gonzales’ “Soul Stirrin'” and a breezy take of “That Sunday, That Summer,” the latter a hit for Nat King Cole during his years as a popular singer. Bernstein also adds four potent originals, all of which set the band afire. It is a shame that Peter Bernstein is overlooked by American record labels, but be thankful that the Japanese know talent when they hear it and invest the time and money to document his work. Highly recommended!


01. Venus Blues
02. Stranger In Paradise
03. Luiza
04. How Little We Know
05. Bobblehead
06. Just A Thought
07. This Is Always
08. Soul Stirrin
09. That Sunday, That Summer
10. Autumn Nocturne

Peter Bernstein – guitar
Brad Mehldau – piano
Larry Grenadier – bass
Bill Stewart – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by James Farber.
Recorded on August 24 & 25, 2003 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-191.



%d bloggers like this: