Percy Faith – Clair & Joy (1973-1972) [Reissue 2018] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Percy Faith – Clair & Joy (1973-1972) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 74:17 minutes | Scans included | 3,32 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,46 GB
2LP on 1SACD | Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Label: Vocalion # CDLK 4614

70s magic from Percy Faith – two albums presented here in their quadrophonic mixes! Clair is a really wonderful album from Percy Faith – part of a handful of sweet 70s sides that really had him sounding a lot more groovy than before! The album almost has a 70s soundtrack vibe at times – with a mix of electric elements amidst the fuller orchestrations – all in a nicely compressed way that’s handled with the sort of production that must have made a record like this a real treat for the quadrophonic generation! There’s a bit of vocals at times – mostly wordless – and the tunes themselves really shape the grooviness of the album – with titles that include “Clair”, “Ben”, “Sweet Surrender”, “2001”, “I Can See Clearly Now”, “Summer Breeze”, and “Superfly”. Joy has the Percy Faith sound opening up in warm, mature modes for the 70s – still a fair bit of strings, but also maybe more of that careful couching of sound that could make 70s easy listening so different from the sound of a decade before! Some of the tunes here are a nice surprise – and include pop and soundtrack numbers that further take Percy into fresh territory – titles that include “Shaft”, “This Way Mary”, “Without You”, “Diamonds Are Forever”, “The Summer Knows”, “An Old Fashioned Love Song”, and “Gypsies Tramps & Thieves”.


01. Clair
02. Dont Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
03. Ben
04. Sweet Surrender
05. I Can See Clearly Now
06. Also Sprach Zarathustra 2001
07. Nights in White Satin
08. Summer Breeze
09. Superfly
10. Love Theme from Lady Sings the Blues
11. We Were Havin Some Fun at the Conservatory When
12. Dueling Banjos
13. Joy
14. Brians Song The Hands of Time
15. Love Theme from Mary Queen of Scots This Way Mary
16. Shaft
17. Without You
18. An Old Fashioned Love Song
19. Diamonds are Forever
20. The Summer Knows
21. Gypsies Tramps and Thieves
22. Medley Sunrise Sunset Fiddler on the Roof
23. Hurting Each Other
Tracks “01-12” is “Clair” (LP ‘1973)
Tracks “12-23” is “Joy” (LP ‘1972)

Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: