Pat Metheny Group – Pat Metheny Group (1978/2017) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Pat Metheny Group – Pat Metheny Group (1978/2017)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 41:26 minutes | 1,63 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 41:26 minutes | 826 MB
Genre: Jazz | Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © ECM

Pat Metheny Group is the first album by the Pat Metheny Group, released in 1978. It features Pat Metheny on guitars, Lyle Mays on piano and synthesizer, Mark Egan on electric bass, and Danny Gottlieb on drums. Many elements that became defining traits of the band’s overall sound were in place on the first album, namely Metheny’s incorporation of several different guitars and Mays’s fusion of electronic and acoustic keyboards to create a fuller, more harmonically sophisticated foundation for the melodies and solos.

The first recording by the Pat Metheny Group features the innovative guitarist along with keyboardist Lyle Mays, bassist Mark Egan, and drummer Dan Gottlieb. The music is quite distinctive, floating rather than swinging, electric but not rockish, and full of folkish melodies. The best known of these six Metheny-Mays originals are “Phase Dance” and “Jaco.” This music grows in interest with each listen.


01 – San Lorenzo
02 – Phase Dance
03 – Jaco
04 – Aprilwind
05 – April Joy
06 – Lone Jack

Pat Metheny – 6-and 12-string electric and acoustic guitars
Lyle Mays – piano, Oberheim synthesizer, autoharp
Mark Egan – fretless electric bass
Danny Gottlieb – drums

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineered by Jan Erik Kongshaug.
Recorded in January 1978 at Talent Studio, Oslo, Norway.



%d bloggers like this: