Oscar Peterson – The Way I Really Play (1968) [Reissue 2003] SACD ISO

Oscar Peterson – The Way I Really Play (1968) [Reissue 2003]
SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:53 minutes | Scans included | 1,71 GB

The third volume of Oscar Peterson’s Exclusively for My Friends series, all recorded with an invited audience in the warm studio of producer Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer, features live trio sessions with bassist Sam Jones and drummer Bobby Durham. The program opens with an unusual medley of Ray Brown’s “Waltzing Is Hip” (played with gusto) and a gently swinging “Satin Doll.” The influence of Art Tatum is apparent during his intricate runs within “Love Is Here to Stay,” while the multifaceted original “Sandy’s Blues” (dedicated to his wife) combines a dark mood with a swinging setting. The lighthearted waltzing treatment of “Alice in Wonderland” is pure joy, while another original, “Noreen’s Nocturne,” is simply a showstopper.


01. Waltzing Is Hip
02. Satin Doll
03. Love Is Here To Stay
04. Sandy’s Blues
05. Alice In Wonderland
06. Noreen’s Nocturne

Oscar Peterson – piano
Sam Jones – double bass
Bobby Durham – drums




%d bloggers like this: