Oscar Peterson, Michel Legrand – Trail Of Dreams: A Canadian Suite (2000) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Oscar Peterson, Michel Legrand – Trail Of Dreams: A Canadian Suite (2000) [Reissue 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:54 minutes | Full Scans included | 3,26 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 51:25 min | Full Scans included | 1,34 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | 51:25 m | Full Scans included | 1,13 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Label: Telarc # SACD-63500

Trail of Dreams: A Canadian Suite is a 2000 studio album by Oscar Peterson. The album is a suite dedicated to Peterson’s native Canada, arranged by Michel Legrand.

Trail of Dreams: A Canadian Suite is hardly a typical Oscar Peterson album. This time, the Canadian pianist doesn’t play any standards and doesn’t take a bop-oriented approach; in fact, Trail of Dreams isn’t a straight-ahead jazz album but rather combines jazz with elements of pop, classical, and symphonic music. Recorded in April 2000, this CD finds Peterson joining forces with Michel Legrand, who conducts a lush 24-piece string orchestra. Legrand is famous for composing gems like “You Must Believe in Spring” and “Once Upon a Summertime,” but the French icon doesn’t do any composing on this album; his role is strictly that of a conductor/arranger, and all of the writing was done by Peterson himself. The compositions were meant to paint an aural picture of Peterson’s native Canada; they were inspired by places that range from Quebec in eastern Canada to British Columbia in the western part of the country. The music is generally likable, and even though Peterson doesn’t have a great deal of room to stretch out and improvise, he manages to get in some decent solos here and there. Nonetheless, Trail of Dreams never pretends to be a hardcore bop date, which is why it’s pointless to judge the CD by bop standards. This release isn’t recommended to bop snobs, although more broad-minded listeners will find it to be an interesting, if imperfect, departure for the veteran pianist.


01. Open Spaces
02. Morning in Newfoundland
03. The Okanagan Valley
04. Dancetron
05. Ballad to P.E.I.
06. Cookin’ on the Trail
07. Banff the Beautiful
08. Lonesome Prairie
09. The French Fiddler
10. Harcourt Nights
11. Manitoba Minuet
12. Anthem to a New Land

Oscar Peterson – piano
Ulf Wakenius – guitar
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen – double bass
Martin Drew – drums
+ The Michel Legrand Strings

Composed by Oscar Peterson. Arranged & Conducted by Michel Legrand.
Recorded on April 12-13, 2000 at Manta Eastern Sound Studios in Toronto, Canada.










%d bloggers like this: