Norah Jones – The Fall (2009/2012) DSF DSD64

Norah Jones – The Fall (2009/2012)
DSF Stereo DSD64, 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 45:59 minutes | 1,82 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover | © Blue Note Records/Analogue Productions

Part of Analogue Productions’ reissue of the Norah Jones’ solo catalog, featuring the individual albums Come Away With Me, Feels Like Home, Not Too Late, The Fall and Little Broken Hearts. Each album is also featured in exclusive LP and SACD box sets that include Norah’s Covers album!

Norah has taken a new direction on The Fall, experimenting with different sounds and a new set of collaborators, including Jacquire King, a noted producer and engineer who has worked with Kings of Leon, Tom Waits and Modest Mouse. Richly detailed and vocally lush on this DSD format reissue by Analogue Productions, The Fall, Jones’ fourth album, may surprise some of Jones’ die-hard fans, Billboard magazine notes. During the 13-song set, Jones ditches the gentle piano playing of her previous work and tears into fresh, beat-savvy arrangements, playing plenty of electric guitar and exploring the piercing quality of Wurlitzer electric piano. Jones’ smoky voice and soulful veneer highlight the opening track and first single, “Chasing Pirates.”

Jones displays a slinky kind of ambience on “Light As a Feather (co-written with Ryan Adams). The social commentary “It’s Gonna Be” offers a garage-rock attitude, and “You’ve Ruined Me” has a rich Americana flavor. But Jones is still a little bit country (“Tell Yer Mama”) and a little bit rock’n’roll (“Stuck”). Overall, writes reviewer Gary Graff, Jones straddles those lines in an entirely different manner than she ever has before.
For The Fall, Jones enlisted several songwriting collaborators, including Ryan Adams and Okkervil River’s Will Sheff, as well as her frequent partners Jesse Harris and Richard Julian. Musicians include drummers Joey Waronker (Beck, R.E.M.) and James Gadson (Bill Withers), keyboardist James Poyser (Erykah Badu, Al Green) and guitarists Marc Ribot (Tom Waits, Elvis Costello) and Smokey Hormel (Johnny Cash, Joe Strummer).

With The Fall, Norah Jones completes the transition away from her smooth cabaret beginnings and toward a mellowly arty, modern singer/songwriter. Jones began this shift on 2007’s Not Too Late, an album that gently rejected her tendencies for lulling, tasteful crooning, but The Fall is a stronger, more cohesive work, maintaining an elegantly dreamy state that’s faithful to the crooner of Come Away with Me while feeling decidedly less classicist. Some of this could be attributed to Jones’ choice of producer, Jacquire King, best-known for his work with Modest Mouse and Kings of Leon, but King hardly pushes Norah in a rock direction; The Fall does bear some mild echoes of Fiona Apple or Aimee Mann in ballad mode, but its arrangements never call attention to themselves, the way that some Jon Brion productions do. Instead, the focus is always on Jones’ voice and songs, which are once again all originals, sometimes composed in conjunction with collaborators including her longtime colleagues Jesse Harris, Ryan Adams, and Will Sheff of Okkervil River. In addition to King’s pedigree, the latter two co-writers suggest a slight indie bent to Jones’ direction, which isn’t an inaccurate impression — there’s certainly a late-night N.Y.C. vibe to these songs — but it’s easy to overstate the artiness of The Fall, especially when compared to Not Too Late, which wore its ragged ambitions proudly. Here, Jones ties up loose ends, unafraid to sound smooth or sultry, letting in just enough dissonance and discord to give this dimension, creating a subtle but rather extraordinary low-key record that functions as a piece of mood music but lingers longer, thanks to its finely crafted songs. –AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 Chasing Pirates 02:41
2 Even Though 03:52
3 Light As A Feather 03:52
4 Young Blood 03:38
5 I Wouldn’t Need You 03:30
6 Waiting 03:31
7 It’s Gonna Be 03:11
8 You’ve Ruined Me 02:45
9 Back To Manhattan 04:10
10 Stuck 05:16
11 December 03:05
12 Tell Yer Mama 03:26
13 Man Of The Hour 02:57

Norah Jones – vocals, Wurlitzer electric piano (on tracks 1–2, 5, 7), piano (2, 5–6, 8–9, 11, 13), tack piano (9), electric guitar (3—6, 8, 10, 12), acoustic guitar (3–4, 8–9), Glockenspiel (6)
Zac Rae – synthesizer (3), Rhodes electric piano, vibraphone and marimba (4), Marxophone (8), organ (9, 12), clavinet (12)
James Poyser – Wurlitzer electric piano (1), organ (8)
John Kirby – synthesizer (1—3, 10), tack piano (1), piano (2, 10)
Matt Stanfield – synthesizer (11)
Sam Cohen – electric guitar (1, 5, 9)
Smokey Hormel – electric guitar (1)
Peter Atanasoff – electric guitar (2, 7, 10)
Sasha Dobson – acoustic guitar (3)
Lyle Workman – acoustic guitar (4), electric guitar (12)
Marc Ribot – electric guitar (8, 10)
Jon Graboff – pedal steel guitar (9)
Jesse Harris – acoustic guitar (11)
Frank Swart – bass (1, 8)
Dave Wilder – bass (2–3, 10), 6 string tick tack bass (2)
Gus Seyffert – bass (4–5, 9, 12)
Catherine Popper – bass (6)
Tony Scherr – bass (7)
Marco Giovino – drums and percussion (1, 8)
Robert DiPietro – drums (1, 6, 7)
Pete McNeal – drums (2–3, 10)
Joey Waronker – drums (4–5, 12)
James Gadson – drums (9)
Will Sayles – tambourine (2), hand drum (3), percussion (7)
Mike Martin – backing vocals (4)

Recorded: 2008–2009, The Coop, NY, The Magic Shop, NY, Sunset Sound Recorders, CA, and House Of David, Nashville, TN; Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original analog master tapes!


%d bloggers like this: