Norah Jones – Covers (2012) DSF DSD64

Norah Jones – Covers (2012)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 36:29 minutes | 1,44 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover | © Blue Note Records/Analogue Productions

Released exclusively to Target stores in America in January 2013 (it had previously shown up in other territories, either as a bonus disc as part of a career-encompassing box set or as a separate release in Japan), Covers rounds up stray covers Norah Jones has released over the years, adding a couple of unreleased cuts in the process. This runs the gamut from classic country covers to Wilco, taking detours for Tom Waits and Horace Silver along the way (the latter is an especially appealing left turn). Nothing here is especially surprising, either in execution or selection, partially because many of these versions date from earlier in her career, appearing as B-sides and bonus tracks for various editions of Come Away with Me, Feels Like Home, and The Fall. Jones has gotten looser and more adventurous as the years passed, a shift that’s evident when these perfectly pleasant covers are compared to the swinging, earthy Little Willies, but she’s always had immaculate taste and that’s evident throughout this enjoyable, lightweight addendum to her first decade of recording.


1. Sleepless Nights 4:15
2. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight 3:18
3. Jesus, Etc. 3:44
4. Sweet Dreams 3:17
5. Cry Cry Cry 3:14
6. Picture In A Frame 3:33
7. Hands On The Wheel (with M. Ward) 4:14
8. She 4:30
9. My Blue Heaven 2:20
10. Peace 3:53

Recorded: 2001-2009; Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio. DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the Analogue Productions SACD cutting masters.


%d bloggers like this: