Nat King Cole – The Very Thought Of You (1958/2010) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Nat King Cole – The Very Thought Of You (1958/2010)
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD 2.0/3.0 | 55:24 minutes | Scans included | 3.06 GB
or FLAC 24bit/96 kHz | Scans included | 1.18 GB | Capitol Records

Nat King Cole possessed one of the most accessible and appealing voices of any singer in the 1950s. This ballad-oriented set puts the emphasis completely on his voice (there is no piano playing or any hint of his jazz-oriented past) and features Cole accompanied by Gordon Jenkins’ sweet arrangements for a string orchestra. Many other singers might find it difficult to overcome, much less uplift this type of accompaniment, but Cole’s basic and honest delivery works quite well in this setting. Highlights include “The Very Thought of You,” “But Beautiful,” “This Is All I Ask,” “For All We Know,” and “The More I See You.” ~~ AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


01. The Very Thought of You (Ray Noble) – 3:48
02. But Beautiful (Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 3:27
03. Impossible (Steve Allen) – 3:09
04. I Wish I Knew (Notorious) (C.A. Rossi, Al Stillman) – 3:14
05. I Found a Million Dollar Baby (In a Five & Ten Cent Store) (Mort Dixon, Billy Rose, Harry Warren) – 2:50
06. Magnificent Obsession (Fred Karger, Frankie Laine) – 3:54
07. My Heart Tells Me (Mack Gordon, Warren) – 4:11
08. Paradise (Nacio Herb Brown, Gordon Clifford) – 3:13
09. This Is All I Ask (Gordon Jenkins) – 4:29
10. Cherie, I Love You (Lillian Rosedale Goodman) – 3:29
11. Making Believe You’re Here (Sammy Cahn, Van Heusen) – 3:38
12. Cherchez La Femme (Bob Marcus, Lorenzo Pack) – 2:39
13. For All We Know (J. Fred Coots, Sam M. Lewis) – 3:15
14. The More I See You (Gordon, Warren) – 3:25
15. Don’t Blame Me (Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields)
16. There is No Greater Love (Isham Jones, Marty Symes)



%d bloggers like this: