Nat King Cole – The Nat King Cole Story (1961/2013) DSF DSD64

Nat King Cole – The Nat King Cole Story (1961/2013)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82 MHz | Time – 01:50:53 minutes | 4,4 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover |  © Analogue Productions

“…if you haven’t picked up every one of the Blue Note and Nat King Cole reissues from Chad Kassem and company at Acoustic Sounds, you’re really missing out!” – David W. Robinson, Positive Feedback, Issue 52

“…mastered from the original three-track work tapes is a sonic spectacular that outdoes the original by a wide margin – as does its packaging. The SACD includes three-channel and two-channel mixes. A major reissue.” Stereophile Records To Die For – Michael Fremer, Stereophile, February 2010

This has been a totally no-expenses-spared project. Using the original three-track work tapes from Capitol’s vaults, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman along with DSD specialist Gus Skinas bring you an entirely incomparable SACD experience. In addition to the stereo mixes, this SACD includes a three-track transfer for multichannel playback. In order to master from the three-track masters, AcousTech had to be outfitted for three-channel playback. That meant Kevin Gray had to find a third identical monitoring channel chain (including mixing board, amplifier and speaker) as well as a three-track playback headstack and also a three-track preview head for the vinyl cutting system. It was a massive assignment. We’ve spent a fortune to include these extra bells and whistles and to make this a truly historic reissue.

This double CD finds Cole revisiting his earlier hits with new versions. The 36 selections mostly focus on his pop successes of the 1950s, although there are a few wistful looks back at his trio days. Not as essential as the original renditions of these popular recordings, the remakes nevertheless find Cole in peak form and comprise a highly enjoyable retrospective of his vocal career.


01 – Straighten Up And Fly Right
02 – Sweet Lorraine
03 – It’s Only A Paper Moon
04 – (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
05 – (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
06 – The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
07 – Nature Boy
08 – Lush Life
09 – Calypso Blues
10 – Mona Lisa
11 – Orange Colored Sky
12 – Too Young
13 – Unforgettable
14 – Somewhere Along The Way
15 – Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
16 – Pretend
17 – Blue Gardenia
18 – I Am In Love
19 – Answer Me, My Love
21 – Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup
22 – The Sand And The Sea
23 – If I May
24 – A Blossom Fell
25 – To The Ends Of The Earth
26 – Night Lights
27 – Ballerina
28 – Stardust
29 – Send For Me
30 – St. Louis Blues
31 – Looking Back
32 – Non Dimenticar (Don’t Forget)
33 – Paradise
34 – Oh, Mary, Don’t You Weep
35 – Ay, Cosita Linda
36 – Wild Is Love
37 – Ramblin’ Rose
38 – Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days Of Summer


%d bloggers like this: