Monty Alexander Trio – Love Me Tender (2011) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Monty Alexander Trio – Love Me Tender (2011) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 64:37 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,6 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,36 GB

Veteran pianist Monty Alexander left Jamaica and came to the United States at age 17. This recording for Venus Records celebrates his 50 years in the land of jazz. Known for his straight ahead sensibilities and sometimes considered a successor of Oscar Peterson, his long career has widened his musical spectrum and brought maturity to his playing. For this recording, Monty is accompanied by bassist Hassan Shakur and drummer Willie Jones III on original songs like “Can’t You See”, “Got To Go” and “Sweet Lady”, as well as popular tunes such as “Come Fly With Me”, “I’ve Never Been In Love Before”, You Call It Madness” and “We’ve Only Just Begun”, plus the title song.

Soulful, swinging, funky and decidedly straight ahead, Alexander’s maturity brought a certain richness and relaxed elegance to his playing. With his trusted rhythm section, he plays standards and a couple of his originals, plus a few of Ray Brown’s (his mentor and early collaborator) repertory. This is one of his strongest albums in recent years!


01. A Beautiful Friendship
02. Can’t You See
03. Come Fly With Me
04. Got To Go
05. I’ve Never Been In Love Before
06. Love Me Tender / A House Is Not A Home
07. Ruby
08. Sweet Lady
09. Used To Be Jackson
10. You Call It Madness
11. We’ve Only Just Begun

Monty Alexander – piano
Hassan Shakur – bass
Willie Jones III – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on September 12 and 13, 2010 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-238.



%d bloggers like this: