Mongo Santamaria & Friends – Mambo Mongo (1993) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Mongo Santamaria & Friends – Mambo Mongo (1993) [Reissue 2003]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 54:29 minutes | Front/Rear covers+PDF | 3,16 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo | Official Digital Download 24bit/96 kHz (Source: HDTracks) | Digital Booklet | 1,19 GB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Label: Chesky Records # SACD 263

Ramon “Mongo” Santamaria was an Afro-Cuban Latin jazz percussionist. He is most famous for being the composer of the jazz standard “Afro Blue”, recorded by John Coltrane among others. In 1950 he moved to New York where he played with Perez Prado, Tito Puente, Cal Tjader, Fania All Stars, etc. He was an integral figure in the fusion of Afro-Cuban rhythms with R&B and soul, paving the way for the boogaloo era of the late 1960s. His 1963 hit rendition of Herbie Hancock’s “Watermelon Man” was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998. His album Mambo Mongo was released on Chesky Records in 1993.

With the completion of this fabulous Afro-Cuban/ jazz project, Mongo Santamaria once again takes his place among the “Mambo Kings”. Consistent with tradition, Mongo has surrounded himself with a tight working band of some of the most talented young musicians on the scene today, highlighted by noted veteran flutist Hubert Laws and Valentin. Using material and instrumentation in a “typical” latin contex , Mongo and friends combine these beautifully arranged comparsas, gua guanco, son montuno, and 6/8 rhythms adding tasteful jazz elements and brilliant solo work that turns “typical” to “spectacular”.


01. Dark Before the Dawn
02. Caribbean Sunrise
03. Mambo Mongo
04. Los Ninos Del Mundo
05. Cali
06. Are They Only Dreaming
07. Cuco Y Olga
08. Azteca
09. La Magolla

Mongo Santamaria – congas
Jimmy Cozier – alto saxophone
Craig Rivers – tenor & soprano saxophone
Eddie Allen – trumpet
Dario Eskenazi – piano
Dave Valentin – flute on “2,4”
Hubert Laws – flute on “1,6”
Jerome Goldschmidt – Bata [Itotele] on “8” / Tambora [Cata] on “9”
Guillermo Edgehill – bass
Eddie Rodriguez – percussion, vocals
Johnny Andreu Almendra – timbales

Produced by David Chesky. Engineered by Bob Katz.
Recorded on March 30 & 31, 1993 at BMG Studio A, New York, NY.
Recorded using minimal miking techniques and without overdubbing or artificial enhancement to ensure the purest and most natural sound possible.



%d bloggers like this: