Mezzotints – Chamber Music by Stale Kleiberg (2015) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Mezzotints – Chamber Music by Stale Kleiberg (2015)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 70:19 minutes | Digital Booklet | 3,71 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Digital Booklet | 1,35 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Genre: Classical

Ståle Kleiberg is a major Norwegian composer with a considerable international reputation. The works on this album represent a lesser-known, but valuable, part of his output. His innovatory approach, formal command and technical mastery are especially apparent in his chamber music oeuvre, and it is gratifying to be able to present the following selection here: String Quartet No. 2, Ruf und Nachklang, Ashes, Piano Trio No. 2, Sonata for Violin and Cello and Sonanza e cadenza.

Since the early twentieth century there has been a radical renewal of pedigreed chamber genres. We need only think of the late sonatas of Debussy, or of the string quartets of Bartók; or, to enter a high modernist space later in the century, of the duos and quartets of Elliott Carter; or, to move into a less prescriptive space that some like to label postmodern, of Ståle Kleiberg in our own time. In the solo and chamber works recorded here, Kleiberg recaptures something of the ethos of the private sphere. The solo works have an inward character, occluding display, while the chamber works restore the thematic sharing and instrumental characterization of the classical era, but in both cases of an informal kind, shy of system, wary of rhetoric.

Immersive Sound is a completely new conception of the musical experience. Recorded music is no longer a matter of a fixed one-dimensional setting, but rather of a three-dimensional enveloping situation. Stereo can be described as a flat canvas and Surround Sound as a field, but Immersive Sound is a sculpture that you can literally move around and relate to spatially; surrounded by music you can move about in the aural space and choose angles, vantage points and positions.


01 – String Quartet No. 2; I. Adagio
02 – String Quartet No. 2; II. Allegro
03 – String Quartet No. 2; III. Adagio, rubato
04 – Ruf und Nachklang; I. Moderato
05 – Ruf und Nachklang; II. Adagio
06 – Ashes
07 – Piano Trio No. 2
08 – Sonata for Violin and Cello; I. Andante rubato
09 – Sonata for Violin and Cello; II. Adagio
10 – Sonata for Violin and Cello; III. Allegro
11 – Sonanza e cadenza

Marianne Thorsen – violin
Øyvind Gimse – cello
Bård Monsen – violin
Ole Wuttudal – viola
Jørgen Larsen – piano

Recorded in February 2015 at Sofienberg Church, Norway.
DXD Recording Producer and Balance Engineer MORTEN LINDBERG.



%d bloggers like this: