Maynard Ferguson & Big Bop Norveau – One More Trip To Birdland (1996) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Maynard Ferguson & Big Bop Norveau – One More Trip To Birdland (1996) [Reissue 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 53:04 minutes | Scans included | 3,61 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,08 GB

The “screaming” trumpeter, a Canadian brassman and bandleader who got his start with Stan Kenton’s orchestra before a storied solo career. He was noted for being able to play accurately in a remarkably high register, and for his bands, which served as stepping stones for up-and-coming talent.

Even at the age of 67, Maynard Ferguson shows on this album that he could still belt out the high notes. His “Big Bop Noveau” band consists of four trumpets, trombonist Tom Garling (who takes a rockish guitar solo on “Birdland”), Matt Wallace and Chris Farr on saxophones, and a rhythm section. With the exception of “Birdland,” the music is strictly bebop, with plenty of screaming trumpet and heated playing; Wallace’s alto outbursts often take honors. Highlights include “Manteca,” “Cajun Cookin’,” “Milestones” and a hyper “It Don’t Mean a Thing”.


01. You Got It
02. Manteca
03. The Vibe
04. Cajun Cookin`
05. Milestones
06. She Was Too Good To Me
07. Birdland
08. Blues From Around Here
09. It Don’t Mean A Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing



%d bloggers like this: