Martin Taylor – Artistry (1992) [Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Martin Taylor – Artistry (1992) [Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:51 minutes | Scans included | 2,86 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 902 MB
Features 2.0 Stereo & 5.1 multichannel Surround sound | Linn Records # AKD 235

Like Joe Pass’ Virtuoso series, Artistry is a vehicle for Taylor’s amazing technical ability. His transcriptions, particularly “Georgia On My Mind,” are superb, but occasionally his playing feels cluttered, as he squeezes in too many details. Elsewhere he is terrific: “Teach Me Tonight” is subtle and swinging, and “The Dolphin” features an astonishing range of colors, from simultaneous chordal and single-note runs to harp imitations that are surprisingly true. It doesn’t provide the pure pleasure of his work with Stephan Grapelli (where he is clearly most inspired), but Artistry is a great example of Taylor’s incredibly refined, creative guitar work.


01. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
02. Stella by Starlight
03. Teach me Tonight
04. The Dolphin
05. Georgia on my Mind
06. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
07. Here There and Everywhere / Day Tripper
08. Just Squeeze Me
09. Gentle Rain
10. Cherokee
11. Certain Smile



%d bloggers like this: