Luqman Hamza – With This Voice (2000) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Luqman Hamza – With This Voice (2000)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:49 minutes | Scans included | 2,46 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,21 GB
or DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | 2.29 GB

With a sensual & seductive voice right out of the ’40s or ’50s, Luqman Hamza (pronounced Luke-mahn Hahm-za) is a real discovery, a vocalist of exceptional pedigree & talent (a former Ink Spot) who inhabits a soulful middle ground that seems to straddle the sounds of Nat King Cole & JohnnyHartman. Previously known as Larry Cummings, Luqman Hamza, an ex-Decca & Argo recording artist in the 50s both as a solo artist & with The Five Aces, is now 1 of the brightest stars of the Kansas City scene who performs regularly to enthusiastic & sold out audiences throughout the Midwest.

This latest release from Groove Note Records was recorded by Luqman Hamza at Airborne Audio in Kansas City & features a fine band of well known supporting musicians from the area. Produced by Joe Harley (Audioquest, Telarc, Enya, ECM) & engineered by Mike Ross, this is another standout vocal recording from Groove Note.

The album features an eclectic & varied selection of standards & popular ballads, ranging from Smoke Gets In Your Eyes & Blue Moon through Laura & My Funny Valentine to the stirring rendition of the less well known With These Hands. On With This Voice Luqman Hamza delivers a seamless performance with an unforgettable mix of richness & emotion, utilizing a winning combination of trio, quartet & quintet arrangements that will leave many listeners clamoring for more.


01. Born To Be Blue
02. Feeling Good
03. My One And Only Love
04. Never Let Me Go
05. Weaver Of Dreams
06. Until The Real Thing Comes Along
07. Blue Moon
08. My Funny Valentine
09. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
10. Laura
11. What Does It Take
12. Just One Of Those Things
13. With These Hands
14. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

Luqman Hamza – vocals
Ahmad Alaadeen – tenor sax
Kim Park – alto sax, flute
Tyrone Clark – bass
Sonny Kenner – guitar
Todd Strait – drums
Tommy Ruskin – drums

The album was recorded on 1/2 inch BASF900 analogue tape running at 30 ips as well as on DSD hard disk recording machine courtesy of Sony.
The album was mastered by Bernie Grundman using DSD processors supplied by Sony/Phillips at Bernie Grundman Mastering in Hollywood.



%d bloggers like this: