Louis Armstrong And His All-Stars – Ambassador Satch (1956/2000) DSF DSD64

Louis Armstrong And His All-Stars – Ambassador Satch (1956/2000)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz  | Time – 54:14 minutes | 2,14 GB | Genre: Jazz
Source: ISO SACD | © Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings

Recorded in Amsterdam, Milan, Hollywood and New York, the performances on Ambassador Satch are largely of the same order as those on Satchmo the Great, except that this collection contains no narrative interludes. Following “Royal Garden Blues,” “Tin Roof Blues,” “Muskrat Ramble” and other tunes, Young is featured on a way-up “Undecided,” Ed Hall on “Darndanella” and Armstrong on “West End Blues,” his crowning classic. Bonus tracks include the previously unissued “Clarinet Marmalade,” another Hall showcase, and “Someday You’ll Be Sorry.”

As Louis Armstrong traversed the globe, bringing jazz to every corner of it, live recordings became the norm. This reissue brings together 1955 concert recordings with the All-Stars from Milan and Amsterdam, buffeted with three previously unreleased bonus studio tracks recorded in New York and Hollywood. Both Satchmo and the All-Stars are in top-notch form here, playing with a real spirit of abandon. Another real good one to add to the collection. –AllMusic Review by Cub Koda


1 Royal Garden Blues 5:10
2 Tin Roof Blues 4:31
3 The Faithful Hussar 6:11
4 Muskrat Ramble 5:42
5 All Of Me 4:16
6 Twelfth Street Rag 4:59
7 Undecided 3:41
8 Dardanella 3:00
9 West End Blues 4:17
10 Tiger Rag 3:31

Bonus Tracks:
11 Clarinet Marmalade 2:14
12 Someday You’ll Be Sorry 4:23
13 When The Red, Red Robin Comes Bob, Bob, Bobbin’ Along 2:06

Vocals, Trumpet – Louis Armstrong
Bass – Arvell Shaw
Clarinet – Edmond Hall
Drums – Barrett Deems
Piano – Billy Kyle
Trombone – Trummy Young

Recorded live at Concert Tour 1955 on Milan, Amsterdam, Los Angeles & New York City




%d bloggers like this: