Lou Donaldson – Sunny Side Up (1961) [Analogue Productions 2011] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Lou Donaldson – Sunny Side Up (1961) [Analogue Productions 2011]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 44:39 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,8 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 0,97 GB

Recorded in 1960, Sunny Side Up features alto master Lou Donaldson paired with a fine cadre of up-and-coming sidemen. In particular, trumpeter Bill Hardman and pianist Duke Pearson contribute a healthy dose of soul to the arrangements, which, combined with rock solid drumming from Al Harewood and tight bass work from Sam Jones and Laymon Jackson, are highlights of this particularly fine album.

Sunny Side Up is closer to hard bop than the straight-ahead bop that characterized Lou Donaldson’s ’50s Blue Note records. There’s a bit more soul to the songs here, which pianist Horace Parlan helps emphasize with his lightly swinging grooves. The pair help lead the group – which also features trumpeter Bill Hardman, drummer Al Harewood and bassist Sam Jones (Laymon Jackson plays bass on two of the eight songs) – through a mellow set of standards and bluesy originals from Donaldson and Parlan. Even the uptempo numbers sound relaxed, never fiery. Despite the general smoothness of the session, Donaldson stumbles a little – the quotation of “Flight of the Bumblebee” on “Blues for J.P.” is awkward, as is the snippet of “Pop Goes the Weasel” on “Politely,” and “Way Down Upon the Swanee River” sounds lazy – but there’s enough solid material to make Sunny Side Up a worthwhile listen for fans of Donaldson and early-’60s hard bop.


01. Blues for J.P.
02. The Man I Love
03. Politely
04. It’s You or No One
05. The Truth
06. Goose Grease
07. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise
08. Way Down upon the Swanee River

Lou Donaldson – alto saxophone
Horace Parlan – piano
Bill Hardman – trumpet (tracks 1-4, 6-8)
Laymon Jackson – bass (tracks 1-2, 4-5)
Sam Jones – bass (tracks 3, 6-8)
Al Harewood – drums

Recorded on February 5 (tracks 3 & 6-8) and February 28 (tracks 1-2 & 4-5), 1960 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs.
Mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, CA.







%d bloggers like this: