Les McCann Trio – Live At The Village Vanguard (2017) DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Les McCann Trio – Live At The Village Vanguard (2017)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz MHz | Time – 41:59 minutes | 3,31 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 41:59 minutes | 791 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Booklet, Front Cover | 2xHD – Storyville Records

2xHD presents a beautifully remastered rerelease of Live at the Village Vanguard from the Les McCann Trio. Recorded in stereo at the Village Vanguard on July 16, 1967 by George Klabin and featuring McCann on piano with bassist Leroy Vinnegar and drummer Frank Severino, this was one of McCann’s last jazz recordings before his turn to R&B in the 1970s.

McCann first gained some fame in 1956 when he won a talent contest in the Navy as a singer that resulted in an appearance on television on The Ed Sullivan Show. After being discharged, he formed a trio in Los Angeles. McCann turned down an invitation to join the Cannonball Adderley Quintet so he could work on his own music. He signed a contract with Pacific Jazz and in 1960 gained some fame with his albums Les McCann Plays the Truth and The Shout. His soulful, funk style on piano was influential and McCann’s singing was largely secondary until the mid-’60s. He recorded many albums for Pacific Jazz during 1960-1964, mostly with his trio but also featuring Ben Webster, Richard “Groove” Holmes, Blue Mitchell, Stanley Turrentine, Joe Pass, the Jazz Crusaders, and the Gerald Wilson Orchestra.

Les McCann reached the peak of his career at the 1969 Montreux Jazz Festival, recording “Compared to What” and “Cold Duck Time” for Atlantic (Swiss Movement) with Eddie Harris and Benny Bailey. After the success of Swiss Movement, McCann emphasized his singing at the expense of his playing and he began to utilize electric keyboards.


01 – I Can Dig It
02 – On Green Dolphin Street
03 – Blues 5
04 – Sunny
05 – I Am in Love
06 – Love for Sale

Les McCann – piano
Leroy Vinnegar – bass
Frank Severin – drums

Recorded July 16, 1967 at the Village Vanguard. Recording engineer: George Klabin.
2xHD was created by producer/studio owner André Perry and audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme.

This album contains high-resolution digital transfers of material originating from an analogue master source.

About 2xHD Fusion process:
In the constant evolution of its proprietary mastering process, 2xHD has progressed to a new phase called 2xHD FUSION, integrating the finest analog, with state-of-the-art digital technology.
The mastering chain consists of a selection of high-end vacuum tube equipment. For the recordings on this album, the original ¼” 15 ips CCIR master tapes were played on a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired from the playback head directly to a Telefunken EF806 tube, using OCC silver cable. The Nagra T, with its four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head, has one of the best transports ever made. A custom-built carbon fiber head block and a head damping electronic system permit 2xHD FUSION to obtain a better resolution and 3D imaging.
The resulting signal is then transformed into high resolution formats by recording it in DSD 11.2 kHz using a Merging Technologies’ Horus A to D converter. All analog and digital cables that are used are state of the art. The 2xHD FUSION mastering system is powered by a super capacitor power supply, using a new technology that lowers the digital noise found in the lowest level of the spectrum. A vacuum tube NAGRA HDdac (DSD) is used as a reference digital playback converter in order to A and B with the original analog master tape, permitting the fusion of the warmth of analog with the refinement of digital.







%d bloggers like this: