Lee Konitz – Dig Dug Dog (1997) [Japan 1999] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Lee Konitz – Dig Dug Dog (1997) [Japan 1999]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 50:08 minutes | Artwork | 2,44 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Complete Artwork | 1,06 GB
Genre: Jazz

Lee Konitz had been on tour in Japan when he went into the studio with the Laurent de Wilde trio and recorded this album. He’s joined on three numbers by Keiko Lee, a smokey Japanese vocalist. The result is somewhat out of the ordinary. There are three Konitz compositions including a reworking of “Thingin'”. The rest are standards with an excellent version of Miles Davis “Solar” and Theolonius Monk’s “Ruby my dear”. On both these tracks his tone is excellent, and across the album as a whole the trio are an excellent foil for his playing. Keiko Lee provides an excellent set of vocals, and thankfully Konitz only gets to scat on one of the tracks.Two final thoughts. One, the recording level is ridiculously quiet,you have to turn up at least a couple of notches to hear the album at its best. Secondly, if you like this album you should make every effort to get hold of the Sony France album by the de Wilde trio called “Spoon-a- rhythm”. A refreshing attempt to do something new from Konitz.


01. Solar
02. Ruby, My Dear
03. Thingin’
04. Gee Baby Ain’t I Good to You
05. Sister Cheryl
06. You Don’t Know What Love Is
07. Body And Soul
08. I Love You
09. I Got It Bad and That Ain’t Good
10. Mr. 88
11. Dug

Lee Konitz – alto saxophone, scat on “11”
Laurent de Wilde – piano
Ira Coleman – bass
Dion Parson – drums
Keiko Lee – vocals on “4, 7 & 9”

Arranged by Lee Konitz. Produced by Kozo Watanabe. Engineered by Yoshihiro Suzuki.
Recorded on March 18-19, 1997 at Sony Music Shinanomachi Studio, Tokyo, Japan.
Mastered by Koji “C-chan” Suzuki. Sony Music Japan # SRGS 4515





%d bloggers like this: