Larry Chernicoff – October (2003) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Larry Chernicoff – October (2003)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 63:26 mins | Scans included | 3,82 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,29 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Genre: Jazz, Fusion

Larry Chernicoff’s ten originals on October form a unified suite. The music is often classical-oriented both in its use of chamber music instruments and in its emphasis on written-out arrangements. The recording has a live, acoustic, unplugged, organic sound, with real instruments, light percussion, and no electronics. The compositions are detailed and varied, revealing new things with every listening. From start to finish, October will take you on a cinematic journey.

There are improvised solos along the way and these tend to be logical extensions of the written music. Chernicoff was wise to gather together some of the most versatile musicians around, including harpist Carol Emanuel, bassoonist Janet Grice, bassist John Lindberg, and Tom Varner on French horn. Since all of the musicians are well versed in both classical music and jazz, they were able to read the charts flawlessly yet give them a jazz feel and occasional short solos. With pianist Karl Berger conducting, Chernicoff (who is heard on vibes and occasionally piano) has created a memorable set of music that crosses the lines between jazz, classical, and instrumental folk music.


01. Windhorse
02. Light Years
03. Talking Rain
04. Sailor and Siren
05. October
06. Timeless
07. East 13th Street
08. Call Down the Stars
09. Tango Noir
10. Last Dance

All composition by Larry Chernicoff.
Produced by Larry Chernicoff and Karl Berger.



%d bloggers like this: