LAGQ (Los Angeles Guitar Quartet) – Guitar Heroes (2004) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

LAGQ (Los Angeles Guitar Quartet) – Guitar Heroes (2004)
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:19 minutes | Scans included | 3,43 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,09 GB
Features 2.0 Stereo and 5.1 multichannel surround sound | Telarc # SACD-60598

The Los Angeles Guitar Quartet is a successful multi-guitar ensemble regularly performing, known for its variety of repertory. They are known for using nylon string guitars to imitate a variety of instruments and effects. They have played in many styles; Baroque, Bluegrass, Flamenco, Rock, and New Age are among their repertoire. For this album, the quartet received a Grammy Award in 2005 as “Best Classical Crossover CD”.

A great concept and a grand conceit, the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet’s disc entitled Guitar Heroes is a disc of radically rearranged and reimagined adaptations, transcriptions, and extrapolations of the quartets’ players own favorite guitar players. The arrangements are tremendous, the transcriptions are terrific, and the extrapolations are amazing. Who would have thought that Jimi Hendrix’s manner of playing could sound so refined, or that Steve Howe’s Mood for a Day could sound so exquisite, or that Chet Atkins’ echo effects could sound so ethereal? And who would have thought that the music of Frank Zappa and Django Reinhardt could be so superbly recomposed and yet so true to the soul of the music? But the astonishing virtuosity of the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet’s playing makes believers of everyone and the astounding reality of the sound of Telarc’s recording makes everyone believe that they are sitting in the same room.


01. Icarus
02. B & B
03. We Know You Know: Reverie for Mahavishnu
04. Pluck, Strum, and Hammer
05. Letter from Home
06. Uarekena
07. Aire para un Dia (Mood For A Day)
08. Gypsy Flower
09. Pop
10. El Baile de Luis Alonso
11. Lament and Wake
12. Let’s Be Frank
13. Blue Echo / Country Gentleman

– John Dearman
– William Kanengiser
– Scott Tennant
– Andrew York



%d bloggers like this: