Kate McGarry – Easy To Love (1992) [Reissue 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Kate McGarry – Easy To Love (1992) [Reissue 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 55:00 minutes | Digital Booklet | 839 MB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Digital Booklet | 587 MB
Vacuum Tube Logic of America / Fonè Records # SACD 068 | Genre:Jazz

Easy to Love is a most appropriate title for the recording debut of vocalist Kate McGarry. Right from the voice-bass intro on “My Heart Stood Still”, you know that this is to be no run-of-the-mill progam. An immediate reaction may be to notice the exceptional diction and enunciation and the distinctive phrasing that McGarry demonstrates. It’s not surprising to learn that her greatest influences have been such unique stylists as Jon Hendricks, Betty Carter, and Mark Murphy, as well as the great lady of jazz vocals, Ella Fitzgerald.

I would like to tell you that I “discovered Kate McGarry by falling into such-and-such a cozy bar (on a freezing night, of course) where she was performing, generating a whole ton of warmth and musical involvement …”But that isn’t quite the truth: Ace drummer, Paul Kreibich, directed me to visit LUNARIA’s Santa Monica jazz-bar and restaurant on a balmy night where I would be able to hear what he felt was heaven-sent music for our label: Kate McGarry singing with her trio comprised of Karen Hammack (piano), Eric Von Essen (bass), and himself, Paul, on drums.I did so visit Lunaría’s, and, though I planned to stay for an hour or so, I was captivated, enchanted, blown-away (etc, etc), and stayed long after closing time, while Kate and the trio did a whole extra set for me! What follows on this album is the result, I believe, of musical magic and bewitching magnetism. A point of interest about the recording: Of course, I placed both Kate’s voice and Eric’s bass in the stereo centre, but chose to put Kare’s piano mainly on the left side and Paul’s drums mainly on the right – truthfully it was an experiment, which I believe came off well … Presenting … Kate Mcgarry. – David Manley, Calífornia, 1992


01. My Heart Stood Still
02. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
03. Autumn Nocturne
04. Just You, Just Me
05. Get It Straight
06. Body And Soul
07. The Thrill Is Gone
08. Easy To Love
09. Haunted Heart
10. A Felicidade
11. Dearly Beloved
12. You’re Nearer

Kate McGarry – vocals
Karen Hammack – piano
Eric Von Essen – bass
Paul Kreibich – drums

Recorded at VTL Studio, Chino, CA.







%d bloggers like this: