Josh Nelson, Alex Frank, Ryan Shaw – The L.A. Network: Dave Brubeck Redux (2019) DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Josh Nelson, Alex Frank, Ryan Shaw – The L.A. Network: Dave Brubeck Redux (2019)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 35:55 minutes | 1,96 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 35:55 minutes | 1,38 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet

Dave Brubeck’s tunes and songs dotted the American musical landscape during the second half century of the 20th century and beyond. On this high fidelity release, the trio of John Nelson on piano, Alex Frank on bass, and Ryan Shaw on drums pay a wonderful tribute to the legacy and genius of Dave Brubeck. All of this music is wrapped in an audio quality that is marked by a purity of sound and a naturalness, instead of one that is artificial or fabricated. The balance and the separation induces a sense of space and creates the effect of putting-you-in-the-room sound. It is a quality of sound that is deep, full and reverberating.

The L.A. Network project was born as a collaboration between two veteran recording engineers and producers – 2xHD’s president André Perry and Resonance Records’ president George Klabin – with the idea of creating a high-end rendition of Dave Brubeck’s most memorable compositions. Perry and Klabin have collaborated on many projects over the last 5 years, including high-res remastering of famous albums by Bill Evans, Wes Montgomery, Jaco Pastorius, Stan Getz, Sarah Vaughan, Shirley Horn, and others.

Dave Brubeck Redux was recorded ‘off-the-floor’ to 2 Track Analog Tape at 15 ips, using the purest audiophile analog techniques, capturing the energy and joy of three brilliant young musicians playing together as one, seizing the well-known compositions and making them freshly their own.

Los Angeles (L.A.) is one of the great music centers of America, with a vast pool of outstanding jazz musicians and singers. The Dave Brubeck Redux album is the first of a projected series of audiophile L.A. Network recordings which will be performed by various musicians and released in high-resolution download formats.


01 – It’s A Raggy Waltz
02 – Take 5
03 – In Your Own Sweet Way
04 – The Duke
05 – Blue Rondo A La Turk
06 – Strange Meadowlark
07 – Blue Shadows In The Street

Josh Nelson – piano
Alex Frank – double bass
Ryan Shaw – drums

Produced & Engineered by George Klabin.
Recorded in August 2019 at Resonance Studios, Beverly Hills, CA.
Recorded live to analog two-track 15 ips tape.

Pure Analogue Recording.
2xHD Mastering by René Laflamme.
Executive Produced by André Perry.



%d bloggers like this: