Joe Pass – Intercontinental (1970/2015) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Joe Pass – Intercontinental (1970/2015)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,8 MHz | Time – 47:00 minutes | 1,85 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 47:00 minutes | 0,98 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Genre: Jazz | © MPS Records

“Joe Pass looks like somebody’s uncle and plays guitar like nobody’s business.” So said New York Magazine about the man considered to be one of the greatest jazz guitarists of the 20th century. Pass’s masterful melodic counterpoint and quicksilver improvisational style flow throughout “Intercontinental”. Deftly accompanied by German bass virtuoso Eberhard Weber and English drummer Kenny Clare, the music runs the gamut of genres – a meditative Jobim bossa nova, a lusciously relaxed version of the jazz standard, “Stompin’ at the Savoy”, a blues-drenched rendition of the Bobby Gentry pop classic, “Ode to Belly Joe”, and a display of dynamically controlled guitar pyrotechnics on the exhilarating “I Love You”.

Joe Pass recorded almost exclusively for American record labels during his long career, so this 1973 studio date for BASF is a rare exception. With bassist Eberhard Weber and drummer Kenny Clare’s brushwork, the legendary guitarist plays a half dozen or so standards, including the gently swinging takes of ‘Chloe’ and ‘Stompin’ at the Savoy,’ a soft arrangement of Jobim’s Meditation,’ and a very lively version of ‘I Love You’ (also featuring solos by his rhythm section). He also improvises the tasty ‘Joe’s Blue’s,’ plays a light samba written by the session’s recording director (‘El Gento’), puts some life into the normally dull 1960’s pop hit ‘Ode to Billy Joe’ by playing it in a Latin groove, and concludes with the very familiar standard from the Count Basie songbook, ‘Lil’ Darlin’,’ which he must have performed hundreds of times during his career. While his playing is rather reserved compared to his later extensive recordings for Pablo, and this release is by no means near the top of the late guitarist’s considerable discography as a leader or soloist, fans of Joe Pass who manage to locate this long unavailable LP won’t be disappointed.


01 – Cloe
02 – Meditation
03 – I Cover the Waterfront
04 – Mexican Hayride: I Love You
05 – Stompin’ At The Savoy
06 – Les parapluies de Cherbourg: Watch What Happens
07 – Joe’s Blues
08 – El gento
09 – Ode to Billie Joe
10 – Li’l Darlin’

Joe Pass – guitar
Eberhard Weber – bass
Kenny Clare – drums

Produced by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer. Engineered by Rolf Donner.
Recorded on June 8–10, 1970 at MPS-Tonstudio in Villingen, Germany.



%d bloggers like this: