Jimmy Smith – Back At The Chicken Shack (1960) [Analogue Productions Remaster 2011] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Jimmy Smith – Back At The Chicken Shack (1960) [Analogue Productions Remaster 2011]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 Stereo > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 43:42 minutes | Scans included | 1,37 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 951 MB

Heres the fabulous Jimmy Smith playing Hammond B3 & driving a top notch band along. The title track is drenched in the blues, & after the theme statement Smith plays a superb 2.5 mins solo. Then of course there is Kenny Burrell on Guitar & Stanley Turrentine on Tenor Sax who are no slouches themselves. On “When I grow too old to dream” Jimmy Smith lets Turrentine take the 1st solo & after a subtle start to his Sax solo he builds up quite a head of steam. After a short Smith solo Turrentine is back for more with another solo. Its that sort of album. I’m guessing that they were having great fun in the studio when they recorded this. The rest of the album maintains the same high standard of the 1st 2 tracks. The album was recorded in 1960 &, of course, has another of those classic Blue Note album covers. The original sleeve notes by Ira Gitler give plenty of background information on the album including how the album cover came about. This great recording was cited in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

Back at the Chicken Shack is one of organist Jimmy Smith’s classic Blue Note sessions, and the first to draw attention to tenor saxophonist Stanley Turrentine. Recorded in 1960 with Kenny Burrell on guitar, Donald Bailey on drums, and Turrentine, the group reaches the peak of funky soul-jazz that all other challengers of the genre would have to live up to. Included on this uptempo session is a reworking of “When I Grow Too Old to Dream” (a feature for Turrentine), Turrentine’s “Minor Chant,” two Smith compositions, “Messy Bessie” as well as the set’s notable title cut, and the CD-only bonus track, “On the Sunny Side of the Street.” Smith’s Midnight Special album was recorded at these same sessions, and is also exceptional.


01. Back At The Chicken Shack
02. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
03. Minor Chant
04. Messy Bessie
05. On The Sunny Side Of The Street

Jimmy Smith: organ
Stanley Turrentine: tenor sax
Kenny Burrell: guitar
Donald Bailey: drums

Mastered for SACD by Kevin Gray and Stve Hoffman at AcousTech Mastering, Camarillo, California.
Authored for SACD by Gus Skinas at the Super Audio Center, Boulder, CO. / Originally released in 1963.







%d bloggers like this: