Jerry Weldon and Massimo Farao’ – What’s New (2017) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Jerry Weldon and Massimo Farao’ – What’s New (2017)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 50:19 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,04 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,06 GB

This collaboration between wonderful Italian pianist Massimo Farao’ and veteran of the New York jazz scene, tenor sax man Jerry Weldon features 1930’s & ’40s Standards on SACD.

One of the more beautiful, more subtle settings we’ve ever heard for the tenor of Jerry Weldon – a very relaxed ballad session cut with pianist Massimo Farao – done with crystal-clear sound, and a very late nite vibe! Over the years, Weldon’s developed a really tremendous voice on the tenor – a mode that hearkens back to old giants of mid-century, but which also never does so in any sort of slavish, or easily-retro style – so that although Jerry’s blowing at their level, he still really brings a lot of his own phrasing to the horn! This can be especially true on the mellower numbers, which can still have Weldon moving with the deft changes he brings to his work in a more driving setting – and while the piano of Massimo Farao is a perfect balance in terms of modesty and simple tone, it’s really Jerry’s work on the set that’s blowing us away. Titles include “What’s New”, “They Can’t Take That Away From Me”, “My Ship”, “The Gypsy”, “Grace”, and “For All We Know”.


01. The Gypsy
02. My Ship
03. We Will Be Together Again
04. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
05. What’s New
06. What A Difference A Day Made
07. Indian Summer
08. It’s Easy To Remember
09. Grace
10. For All We Know

Jerry Weldon – tenor saxophone
Massimo Farao’ – piano

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Alessandro Taricco.
Recorded on October 18, 2012 at Riverside Studio in Torino, Italy.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-242.



%d bloggers like this: