Jacintha – Lush Life (2001) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Jacintha – Lush Life (2001)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 00:57:25 minutes | 2,29 + 2,01 GB | Genre:Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds |  © Groove Note Records

Cover art and liner notes included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the SACD cutting master.

“Excellent late-night listening…mesmerizing.” — Judith Schlesinger

The accolades Singapore-born vocalist Jacintha has garnered are too numerous to list. Suffice it to say those looking for exquisite female jazz vocal performances that pay homage to the “old school” but with contemporary sensibilities will find Jacintha much to their liking. Her first two releases, Autumn Leaves and Here’s To Ben, have become certified audiophile jazz classics. Her third release for Groove Note, Lush Life, features silky string arrangements by pianst Bill Cunliffe. With Anthony Wilson (guitar) and Dmitri Matheny (flugel), this is one of her best-sounding albums to date. This recording quality, as has come to be expected from her previous albums, is nothing short of exceptional.

This is Jacintha’s third album for Groove Note, and her first with strings. Very popular in her native Singapore, she’s beginning to get a worldwide reputation, and this release demonstrates why: Her voice is lovely, with clear diction and expressive, naturalistic phrasing. She draws the listener into a warm intimacy from the first track, “The Boulevard of Broken Dreams,” a rarely covered and beautiful song with the perfect “rainy night in Paris” ambience supplied by Frank Marocco on accordion. Other highlights include a bluesy but refreshingly non-wailing “Black Coffee,” with a fine, understated solo by Bill Cunliffe on piano; he’s also good on the silky bossa “Manha de Carneval,” where Anthony Wilson’s melodic plucking contrasts nicely with the smoothness of the strings. Another unusual but happy choice, “When We Were Young,” showcases the superb flügelhorn of Dmitri Matheny, which enhances four other tracks as well. Eight of the ten selections are ballads and, since Jacintha delivers her message straight and serene, the overall feel is quiet, sultry, and relaxing. After slooow readings of “The Shadow of Your Smile,” “Lush Life,” and “September Song,” Joe LaBarbera’s brushes and drum accents on “Harlem Nocturne” provide a welcome texture and pulse. The surprise of the CD is the startlingly original, soaring introduction to the vastly overplayed “Summertime,” where Cunliffe’s string arrangement evokes both Gershwin and modern French composers. This is excellent late-night listening; the local male vote was “mesmerizing.” –AllMusic Review by Judith Schlesinger


1 Boulevard Of Broken Dreams 4:55
2 Black Coffee 6:39
3 Summertime 6:13
4 Lush Life 6:19
5 Manha De Carneval 6:10
6 The Shadow Of Your Smile 5:12
7 When We Were Young 8:23
8 September Song 5:09
9 Harlem Nocturne 6:20
10 Smile 2:17

Jacintha – Vocal
Bill Cunliffe – Piano/Arranger
Darek Oles – Bass
Joe LaBarbera – Drums
Dmitri Matheny – Flugelhorn
Anthony Wilson – Guitar
Frank Marocco – Accordion
Twelve Strings:
Peter Kent, Norm Hughes, John Wittenberg, Gina Kronstadt, Eddie Stein, Susan Chatman – Violins
Virginia Frazier, Marium Mayer, Reneta Koven – Violas
Rudi Stein, Peggy Baldwin – Celli
Amy Shulman – Harp

Recorded by Michael C. Ross at Oceanway Recording, Hollywood, CA, August 24 and 25, 2001







%d bloggers like this: