Fred Jackson – Hootin’ ‘N Tootin’ (1962) [APO Remaster 2009] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Fred Jackson – Hootin’ ‘N Tootin’ (1962) [APO Remaster 2009]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 73:25 minutes | Scans included | 3,0 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,34 GB

Unjustly ignored at the time of its release, Fred Jackson’s lone album, Hootin’ ‘N Tootin’, is a thoroughly enjoyable set of funky soul-jazz with hard bop overtones. It is true that Jackson doesn’t try anything new on the set, but he proves to be a capable leader, coaxing hot, infectious performances out of guitarist Willie Jones, organist Earl Vandyke and drummer Wilbert Hogan, all of whom were collegues of Jackson in the Lloyd Price band. All of the songs on the album are Jackson originals, and while there are no substantial, memorable melodies, they provide an excellent foundation for the group’s smoking interplay. Both the uptempo R&B numbers and the slower blues give the musicians plenty of opportunity to flaunt their chops while working the groove, and the result is a modest but highly entertaining set of earthy, bluesy soul-jazz that should have been heard by a wider audience.


01. Dippin’ In The Bag
02. Southern Exposure
03. Preach Brother
04. Hootin’ ‘N Tootin’
05. Easin’ On Down
06. That’s Where It’s At
07. Way Down Home
08. Stretchin’ Out
09. Mr. B.J.
10. Egypt Land
11. Teena
12. On The Spot
13. Minor Exposure
14. Little Freddie

Fred Jackson – tenor sax
Willie Jones – guitar
Sam Jones – bass
Earl Van Dyke – organ, piano
Wilbert G.T. Hogan – drums

APO version mastered by Kevin Gray & Steve Hoffman. Authored by Gus Skinas.



%d bloggers like this: