Doc Severinsen – Rhapsody For Now! / Doc (1973/1972) [Reissue 2018] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Doc Severinsen – Rhapsody For Now! / Doc (1973/1972) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 75:19/41:49 minutes | Basic Scans included | 2,27 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 75:19 | Basic Scans incl. | 1,52 GB
2LP on 1SACD Reissue 2017 | Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # CDLK 4609

Two groovy Doc Severinson albums – back to back on a single CD! Rhapsody For Now is kind of a cool concept album for Doc Severinsen – one that has him blowing amidst some larger suites arranged by Oliver Nelson, Harry Betts, and Tommy Newsom – each with a slightly different feel! The set starts out with the hip “Rhapsody For Now” – comprised of some cool 70s tunes like “Live & Let Die”, “Soul Makossa”, “Shambala”, and “Touch Me In The Morning” – done up in hip big band arrangements by Nelson that are totally great. The same groove follows in the shorter “Pictures”, arranged by Lenny Stack – which is a sweet funky number! “Rhapsody For Then” is next – but the “then” is really just the late 60s – as Severinson blows trumpet over big band versions of “California Dreamin”, “Look Of Love”, “A Song For You”, and “Sweet Caroline”. The set ends with straighter jazz on “I Remember Louis” – a suite of tunes associated with Louis Armstrong, but still given a pretty 70s twist in the arrangements. Doc is a set of upbeat, jazzy ditties all arranged by Dick Hyman – with a brightly swinging feel that’s a hip mix of late 60s mod and early 70s funk! Doc’s brassy sound is perfect for the setting – and he really polishes off the top of Hyman’s arrangements nicely – never stretching out too far in his solos, nor straying to far from the melodies – but always providing more than enough “voice” with his horn to deepen the cuts past standard instrumental modes. Titles include “Liberia”, “Theme From Portnoy’s Complaint”, “Living Free”, “Bonnie”, “The Godfather Waltz”, “Lucky Me”, “I Only Want To say”, and “Theme From Summer Of 42”.


01. Live and Let Die
02. Soul Makossa
03. Yesterday Once More
04. Touch Me in the Morning
05. Shambala
06. My Love
07. Promenade
08. California Dreamin
09. The Look of Love
10. A Song for You
11. Sweet Caroline
12. Youve Got a Friend
13. I Remember Louis
14. Liberia
15. Portnoys Complaint
16. Summer of 42
17. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
18. Living Free
19. Offertory
20. Bonnie
21. Baby Im a Want You
22. The Godfather Waltz
23. Lucky Me
24. I Only Want to Say

Tracks “01-13” is “Rhapsody for Now!” (LP ‘1973) > available in stereo and multi-channel
Tracks “14-24” is “Doc” (LP ‘1972) > available in stereo ONLY!
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: