Diana Krall – Love Scenes (1997/2004) DSF DSD64

Diana Krall – Love Scenes (1997/2004)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 00:55:28 minutes | 2,20 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds |  © The Verve Music Group , XUNI3814D64
Cover art included, liner notes not included

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original DSD audio used to create the existing SACD.

Grammy nominated Love Scenes features Diana’s mastery of the romantic ballad in an intimate piano trio setting with Russell Malone on guitar and Christian McBride on bass.

“But to me there is a broader and more personal attachment to each of the songs than the standard definition of romantic love might imply. I think that these songs represent the strength of love, including the love of family and friends. But rather than describing my own thoughts about each song, it is my hope that all of you who listen to the music and read the lyrics will discover and imagine your own personal “love scenes” among the mountains, oceans, rain and gardens of these songs.” –Diana Krall

Vocalist/pianist Diana Krall was a very hot property by the time this Impulse CD was released. Teamed in a trio with her regular guitarist Russell Malone and bassist Christian McBride, Krall here mostly emphasizes ballads having something to do with love. She is at her best on “I Don’t Know Enough About You,” “I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance With You,” and “How Deep Is the Ocean.” However, Krall’s earlier Nat King Cole tribute had more variety in tempos and moods and is recommended first. A decent but not essential release. –AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow


1 All Or Nothing At All 4:35
2 Peel Me A Grape 5:52
3 I Don’t Know Enough About You 4:02
4 I Miss You So 4:42
5 They Can’t Take That Away From Me 5:39
6 Lost Mind 3:48
7 I Don’t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You 6:14
8 You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me 2:14
9 Gentle Rain 4:55
10 How Deep Is The Ocean (How High Is The Sky) 4:45
11 My Love Is 3:26
12 Garden In The Rain 4:56

Diana Krall – piano, vocals
Russell Malone – guitar
Christian McBride – double bass




%d bloggers like this: