Derek Smith Trio – Beautiful Love (2009) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Derek Smith Trio – Beautiful Love (2009) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:45 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,48 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,22 GB

A jazz pianist noted for his versatility and elegance, Derek Smith, from the ’50s was a staple on the U.K. jazz scene, regularly performing with the giants like Kenny Graham, John Dankworth, and Kenny Baker. Smith remains relatively unknown in the U.S. but is strongly admired by fellow musicians and ardent fans. For his debut for Venus Records, Smith – who was 76 years old at the time of the recording – was paired with a very strong rhythm section: Peter Washington on bass and Joe Ascione on drums. In a program of well-known standards, Smith impresses the listener with his swinging, dynamic and even fiery pianism on fast tunes and beautiful touch and harmonic elegance on slow numbers.


01. Beautiful Love
02. Close Your Eyes
03. This Can’t Be Love
04. Laura
05. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
06. Lover
07. How Long Has This Been Going On?
08. Dream Dancing
09. Young And Foolish
10. I’m Beginning To See The Lights
11. Two For The Road
12. Give Me The Simple Life

Derek Smith – piano
Peter Washington – bass
Joe Ascione – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on April 7 & 8, 2008 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-211.



%d bloggers like this: