Christie Winn – C’est Magnifique (2011) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Christie Winn – C’est Magnifique (2011)
DSD64 (.dff) 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 39:30 minutes | 1,55 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 39:30 minutes | 791 MB
Genre: Jazz | Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © OTR Studios

Minimalist arrangements and smoky vocals convey the raw and deep emotion of jazz standards from around the world. Christie Winn’s voice wraps itself around you like bear hug and carries you along for the ride on “C’est Magnifique”. A pure professional as a vocalist, Winn is on every moment of the album, selling each song as if she’s lived it, and knocking out each note with a level of technical proficiency and artistic grace that is a cut above the pack. Winn’s interpretations are generally right on the mark, elevating song craft at times to the sublime. “C’est Magnifique” truly is.

Christie Winn’s interpretation of the standard repertory proves, once again, that a great voice and a great song is one of life’s smoothest pleasures. And C’est Magnifique is as smooth as it gets. Joe Kyle’s rich acoustic bass and Winn’s own elegantly sparse piano provide the perfect harmonic underpinning for precise vocalizations that, nevertheless, ease their way into the material’s emotional core. Tailor-made for fans of Barbara Streisand’s Love Is the Answer quartet recordings with Diana Krall, this album feels up close and personal, as if Winn and Kyle are performing especially for you and the one you love. Cookie Marenco’s production innovations continue to raise the bar for sonic brilliance and spatial purity.


01. You Don’t Know What Love Is
02. Angel Eyes
03. Bye Bye Blackbird
04. C’est Magnifique
05. Sai Dessa
06. Like A Lover
07. Dos Gardenias
08. It’s Only A Paper Moon
09. Body and Soul
10. Inutil Paisagem
11. Estate
12. C’est Magnifique (Reprise)

Christie Winn – 1885 Steinway grand piano, melodica, vocals
Joe Kyle, Jr. – bass

Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by Cookie Marenco at OTR Studios, Belmont, CA.
Recorded to 2″ analog tape and mixed through analog console to DSD64.



%d bloggers like this: