Charles McPherson Quartet – But Beautiful (2004) [Japan 2015] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Charles McPherson Quartet – But Beautiful (2004) [Japan 2015]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 70:34 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,86 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,81 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 861 MB

Venus Records is known to highlight little-known veteran American jazz musicians who play excellent music to this day and merit listening by a wider audience. Some of these musicians include Eddie Higgins, Archie Shepp, Steve Kuhn, and Claude Williamson. The newest member added to this distinguished list is Charles McPherson. Even though McPherson is an alumni of the Charles Mingus Jazz Workshop from the late 60s and early 70s, presently he may be at the top of his game. On this release for Venus Records, McPherson is paired with the first-rate pianist Steve Kuhn. McPherson impresses with his personal tone and shining, emotional playing that is deeply rooted in bebop. This is an astonishing album by an astonishing artist.

Charles McPherson delves into a number of standards in this collection of timeless ballads, well accompanied by pianist Steve Kuhn, bassist David Williams, and drummer Leroy Williams. The alto saxophonist’s tone has a bit of a bluesy edge throughout the sessions, as if he is reminiscing about a past love. His heartfelt rendition of “My Ideal” stands out, as do his two interpretations of songs by Nicholas Brodszky, “Be My Love” and “Love Letters.” McPherson picks up the tempo with “I Didn’t Know What Time It Was,” though his tone doesn’t shift to a lighter mood. The relaxed mood makes this release perfect for late-night listening. The only drawback with this CD is the ugly cover photo, which McPherson denounced as very tasteless during a 2007 interview.


01. Be My Love
02. I Should Care
03. We’ll Be Together Again
04. My Ideal
05. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
06. I’ll Never Stop Loving You
07. Love Letters
08. But Beautiful
09. Gone With The Wind

Charles McPherson – alto saxophone
Steve Kuhn – piano
David Williams – bass
Leroy Williams – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by James Faber.
Recorded on July 24-25, 2003 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-76.




%d bloggers like this: