Billie Holiday – Lady In Satin (1958) [Reissue 2002] MCH SACD ISO

Billie Holiday – Lady In Satin (1958) [Reissue 2002]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:14 mins | No Art | 3,97 GB

This is the most controversial of all Billie Holiday records. Lady Day herself said that this session (which finds her accompanied by Ray Ellis’ string orchestra) was her personal favorite, and many listeners have found her emotional versions of such songs as “I’m a Fool to Want You,” “You Don’t Know What Love Is,” “Glad to Be Unhappy,” and particularly “You’ve Changed” to be quite touching. But Holiday’s voice was essentially gone by 1958, and although not yet 43, she could have passed for 73. Ellis’ arrangements do not help, veering close to Muzak; most of this record is very difficult to listen to. Late in life, Holiday expressed the pain of life so effectively that her croaking voice had become almost unbearable to hear. There is certainly a wide range of opinion as to the value of this set.


01. I’m A Fool To Want You
02. For Heaven’s Sake
03. You Don’t Know What Love Is
04. I Get Along Without You Very Well
05. For All We Know
06. Violets For Your Furs
07. You’ve Changed
08. It’s Easy To Remember
09. But Beautiful
10. Glad To Be Unhappy
11. I’ll Be Around


%d bloggers like this: