Bill Evans – Bill Evans At The Montreux Festival (1968) [Japanese Reissue 2004] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Bill Evans – Bill Evans At The Montreux Festival (1968) [Japanese Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 52:20 minutes | Scans included | 2,16 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,07 GB

Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Casino De Montreux, Montreux, Switzerland on June 15, 1968. Originally released on Verve (8762). Includes liner notes by Gene Lees. Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake (Polygram Studios) & Gert Van Hoeyen (Polygram Sound Lab, Baarn, The Netherlands). A unique Japanese SACD remaster of the American musician’s 1968 release as part of the ‘Verve 60th Anniversary Supreme Sound Edition’ series; DSD digitally remastered by Seigen Ono. Centre label of the original LP faithfully reproduced on the CD.

At the Montreux Jazz Festival, marks the beginning of stylistic changes for the legendary pianist. Only 1 year earlier, his At Town Hall release found his approach generally more introspective & brooding. In contrast, this set is more lively, playful, & experimental. Much of this is down to the active & intense drumming of Jack DeJohnette, who had joined the trio only a short time before this concert was recorded; longtime bandmate Eddie Gomez is also featured on this album. His energetic soloing adds veracity to tunes such as “Embraceable You” & “A Sleeping Bee.” DeJohnette, too, is given several opportunities to display his drumming skills. His lengthy solo on “Nardis” displays his technical prowess & 4-way coordination; such acumen would later cause jazz fans & critics alike to hail DeJohnette as 1 of the world’s premier jazz drummers.
Evans, famous for a soft-spoken pianistic touch, seems driven to new vistas on this album. He experiments more with harmonic dissonance & striking rhythmical contrasts, making this his most extroverted playing since his freshman release, New Jazz Conceptions. This is part of Verve’s Master Edition series.


01. One for Helen
02. A Sleepin’ Be
03. Mother of Earl
04. Nardis
05. I loves You, Porgy
06. The Touch of Your Lips
07. Embraceable You
08. Someday My Prince Will Come
09. Walkin’ Up

Bill Evans – piano
Eddie Gomez – bass
Jack DeJohnette – drums



%d bloggers like this: