Arnett Cobb – Party Time (1959) [APO Remaster 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Arnett Cobb – Party Time (1959) [APO Remaster 2018]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 37:13 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,5 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 770 MB

Arnett Cleophus Cobb was an American jazz tenor saxophonist, sometimes known as the “Wild Man of the Tenor Sax” because of his uninhibited stomping style. His album, Party Time, has been recorded in 1959 for the Prestige label. This release is a part of the ultimate audiophile Prestige stereo reissues from Analogue Productions – 25 of the most collectible, rarest, most audiophile-sounding Rudy Van Gelder recordings ever made.

Tenor saxophonist Arnett Cobb, who was inactive between 1957 and 1958 due to a serious auto accident, recorded three strong albums for Prestige during the first half of 1959. This album is the only one of the trio that features Cobb as the only horn and backed by a pianist (Ray Bryant) instead of an organ player. With bassist Wendell Marshall, drummer Art Taylor and Ray Barretto on conga completing the group, most of the focus is on Cobb’s tough yet flexible tenor. Such songs as “When My Dreamboat Comes Home,” “Blues in the Closet” and a remake of “Flying Home” make this the definitive Arnett Cobb album from the era. Highly recommended.


01. When My Dreamboat Comes Home
02. Lonesome Road
03. Blues in the Closet
04. Party Time
05. Flying Home
06. The Slow Poke
07. Cocktails for Two

Arnett Cobb – tenor saxophone
Ray Bryant – piano
Wendell Marshall – bass
Art Taylor – drums
Ray Barretto – congas

Recorded on May 14, 1959 at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ.
Mastered from the original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray.



%d bloggers like this: