Arnett Cobb – Funky Butt (1980/2021) DSF DSD128

Arnett Cobb – Funky Butt (1980/2021)
DSD256 (.dsf) 1 bit/11,2 MHz MHz | Time – 00:44:02 minutes | 6,96 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:44:02 minutes | 792 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | Genre: Jazz | © 2xHD

Funky Butt is Arnett Cobb’s final recording. Grammy Award winning Jazz Legend Arnett Cobb is an American music pioneer. His larger than life playing style separates him as a master saxophonist & icon. He was sometimes known as the “Wild Man of the Tenor Sax” because of his uninhibited stomping style.

Cobb, a Tenor Saxophone player from the 1940s who (like Illinois Jacquet) fused together some of the most exciting aspects of swing and early R&B, is in typically exuberant form on this quartet set with pianist Derek Smith, bassist Ray Drummond and drummer Ronnie Bedford. Cobb is warm on the ballads, but the stomps are what make this record most memorable.


01. Jumpin’ At The Woodside
02. Satin Doll
03. Georgia On My Mind
04. Funky Butt
05. I Got Rhythm
06. September In The Rain
07. Isfahan
08. Radium Springs Swings

Arnett Cobb – Tenor Sax
Derek Smith – Piano
Ray Drummond – Bass
Ronnie Bedford – Drums



%d bloggers like this: