Alexis Cole – Someday My Prince Will Come (2009) [Japan 2016] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Alexis Cole – Someday My Prince Will Come (2009) [Japan 2016]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 52:38 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,14 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 2,11 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 646 MB

With a voice praised as “a deep contralto as smooth and dark as the richest espresso”, award-winning jazz vocalist Alexis Cole has made an impressive impact on audiences ever since she first took the stage as a teenager. Called “one of the great voices of today”, Alexis Cole has been compared to classic jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan and Anita O’Day. Her luxurious voice and innovative interpretations make her an instant favorite with audiences of all ages. Cole is the recipient of a Swing Journal Gold Disk award, and has won the NY Jazzmobile and Montreux Jazz Festival vocal competitions. “Someday My Prince Will Come” is her first album for Japanese Venus Records.

Alexis Cole is caught deep in the dreams of her childhood on this set of standards that recall a more innocent youth and simpler times. Yet the romantic spell of grown-up fantasies is also heard during this set of ballads derived from show tunes that have references to Peter Pan, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, and similar playful, lighthearted figures of mythical proportions. As a vocalist, Cole has few peers in terms of her enunciation, coupled with a beautiful singing voice she draws on previous icons such as Chris Connor, Irene Kral, or Carol Sloane. Pianist Fred Hersch is a perfect choice for making these songs come to life in Cole’s vivid, lush, story telling imagination, with bassist Steve LaSpina and drummer Matt Wilson also along for this magic carpet ride. A song like the loping ramble “Let Me Be Good to You” is more seductive, while “Love” (from Robin Hood) adds Hersch’s stride piano and Don Braden’s soprano sax, adding whimsy to the forlorn refrain. For the most part, these are heartfelt songs of love on the way, anticipated by Cole’s supple voice during the soft swinger “If I Never Knew You” (from Pocahontas) and the waltzing title track, both featuring the haunting harmonica of Gregoire Maret. Braden’s flute on “La La Lu” (from Lady & the Tramp) accents Cole’s sweet charms, perfectly evocative of her cover photos, as she’s draped in pearls and a pristine white dress, holding a butterfly. If you’re in a similar mood, probably late at night, these songs are best when shared with a good friend, especially as time stands still but for a while.


01. For Now For Always
02. Home Is Where The Heart Is
03. If I Never Knew You
04. La La Ru
05. Let Me Be Good To You
06. Love
07. Once Upon A Dream
08. Remember When
09. So This Is Love
10. Someday My Prince Will Come
11. The Second Star To The Right
12. When You Wish Upon A Star

Alexis Cole – vocals
Fred Hersch – piano
Don Braden – tenor & soprano sax, flute
Gregoire Maret – harmonica
Steve LaSpina – bass
Matt Wilson – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Katherine Miller.
Recorded on May 9-10, 2009 at Avatar Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-128.




%d bloggers like this: