Alexis Cole – A Kiss In The Dark (2014) {Binaural+ Stereo Recording} DSF DSD128 + Hi-Res FLAC

Alexis Cole – A Kiss In The Dark (2014) {Binaural+ Stereo Recording}
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 53:31 minutes | 3,05 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 53:32 minutes | 2,12 GB
Genre: Jazz | Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ Chesky Records

Called “one of the great voices of today”, Alexis Cole has been compared to classic jazz singers such as Sarah Vaughan and Anita O’Day. Her luxurious voice and innovative interpretations make her an instant favorite with audiences of all ages. Cole is the recipient of a Swing Journal Gold Disk award, and has won the NY Jazzmobile and Montreux Jazz Festival vocal competitions…

This time out, Alexis Cole goes further back in time with her quartet of guitarist Saul Rubin, saxophonist/clarinetist Dan Block, bassist Pat O’Leary and drummer Phil Stewart to a more genteel time when sheet music was the most common method of dissemination of popular tunes. With her relaxed style, clear articulation, unhurried, conversational approach and allknowing sense of cool, Cole and her crew strike a swinging accord on nuggets like “Ain’t We Got Fun,” “Bimini Bay,” “Whippoor­will,” the buoyantly swinging title track and ten other tunes from yesteryear in this engaging retro revue. Everything goes down nice ‘n’ easy on this luxurious outing, and Alexis delivers with timeless charm from track to track.

Part of the Chesky Binaural + Series, all recorded with a single microphone, the band and singer appear right before you with this spacious, lush and multidimensional recording. You will hear some of the most natural and pure vocals ever recorded of a jazz singer.


01 – Ain’t We Got Fun
02 – Whip-poor-will
03 – Do You Ever Think Of Me
04 – Limehouse Blues
05 – Chicago, that Toddlin’ Town
06 – Bimini Bay
07 – Nobody Knows You When You are Down and Out
08 – After You’ve Gone
09 – There’s a Broken for Every Light on Broadway
10 – A Kiss in the Dark
11 – Indian Summer
12 – Turn Back the Universe and Give Me Yesterday
13 – Let the Rest of the World Go By
14 – Till We Meet Again

Alexis Cole – vocals
Dan Block – saxophone, clarinet
Saul Rubin – guitar
Pat O’Leary – bass
Phil Stewart – drums

Produced by David Chesky. Recording, editing and mastering engineer: Nicholas Prout.
Recorded December 19, 2013 at the Hirsch Center in Brooklyn, New York.
Recorded using a B&K Binaural head, MSB A/D Converter, and Crystal microphone cable.

This album was made with the purest audio path, using the very best microphones, mic preamps, analog-to-digital converters, recorders, and cables with careful attention to detail to produce the most transparent and natural sound available today.



%d bloggers like this: