Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes – Black & Blue & Wake Up Everybody (1973 & 1975) [Reissue 2020] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes – Black & Blue & Wake Up Everybody (1973 & 1975) [Reissue 2020]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 79:09 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 3,45 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | 78:35 min | F/R Covers | 1,69 GB
2 LP on 1 SACD | Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Vocalion # CDSML 8571

In a strong start to 2020, Vocallion has reissued another batch of quad hybrid SACDs. Fans are getting a lot of rhythm and blues among other classic 70’s quad reissues. The soulful and danceable Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes will surround listeners with a quad mix from their “Black & Blue” album along with the album “Wake Up Everybody”. Michael Dutton has gone back to the original analog masters and transferred them into the DSD domain in both quad and stereo on a single hybrid SACD.

Black & Blue
Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes’ second album found the group continuing to ride its early peak, featuring the hit “The Love I Lost” (in a six-minute version longer than the one that made the pop Top Ten) and an additional Top Ten R&B hit in “Satisfaction Guaranteed (Or Take Your Love Back).” The album and its “The Love I Lost” single also became milestones for Gamble & Huff productions and Philadelphia soul in general for introducing the dance groove that became so integral to disco. But while the two hits and “Is There a Place for Me” were forceful uptempo tracks, they were balanced by a good number of effective ballads, the only misstep (and a most curious one) being the decision to lead off the album with a cover of “Cabaret”.

Wake Up Everybody
Philly soul staples Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes were in full swing on 1975’s Wake Up Everybody. Sporting their trademark lush, string-laden production from Gamble and Huff (who also wrote about half the album’s material), the smooth soul outfit delivers a mix of deep soul balladry and uptempo dance tracks. The title track, with its socially relevant messages, is a standout. There is no shortage of fine vocal performances all around, notably from Melvin and from future solo star Teddy Pendergrass.


01. Cabaret
02. The Love I Lost
03. It All Depends On You
04. Concentrate On Me
05. Satisfaction Guaranteed
06. Is There a Place for Me
07. I’m Weak for You
08. I’m Comin’ Home Tomorrow
09. Wake up Everybody
10. Keep on Lovin’ You
11. You Know How To Make Me
12. Don’t Leave Me This Way
13. Tell The World How I Feel
14. To Be Free To Be Who We Are
15. I’m Searching For A Love

Tracks “01-08” is “Black & Blue” (LP ‘1973)
Tracks “09-15” is “Wake Up Everybody” (LP ‘1975)

Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.







%d bloggers like this: