Leo Kottke – 6- and 12-String Guitar (1969) [Reissue 2004] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Leo Kottke – 6- and 12-String Guitar (1969) [Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 36:45 minutes | Scans included | 1,56 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 787 MB
Genre: Folk

Leo Kottke’s wide-release debut came about after he sent a cassette to John Fahey’s Takoma label. Not surprisingly, it recalls Fahey’s work in a number of respects: the synthesis of numerous influences from blues, pop, classical, and folk styles, the weirdly titled instrumentals, even the tongue-in-cheek liner notes. Kottke’s brand of virtuosity, however, is more soothing and easy on the ear than Fahey’s. It’s far from sappy, though, the rich and resonant picking intimating some underlying restlessness, like peaceful open fields after a storm. Establishing much of the territory Kottke was to explore throughout his career, this release was also one of his most popular, eventually selling over 500,000 copies.


01. The Driving Of The Year Nail
02. The Last Of The Arkansas Greyhounds
03. Ojo
04. Crow River Waltz
05. The Sailor’s Grave On The Prairie
06. Vaseline Machine Gun
07. Jack Fig
08. Watermelon
09. Jesu, Joy Of Man’s Desiring
10. The Fisherman
11. The Tennessee Toad
12. Busted Bicycle
13. The Brain Of The Purple Mountain
14. Coolidge Rising







%d bloggers like this: