Allan Taylor, Gottinger Symphonie Orchester – There Was A Time (2016) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Allan Taylor, Gottinger Symphonie Orchester – There Was A Time (2016)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:36 minutes | Scans included | 3,47 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 2,4 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,35 GB

For 40 years Allan Taylor, born in Brighton in 1945, has been considered as the consummate performer, a writer of literary gracefulness whose troubadour chronicles encapsulate the realism of otherwise unsung heroes, otherwise uncharted lives.

Taylor had played on the Folkest festival every two or three years, usually on the stage in the Piazza Castello of Spilimbergo, a delightful small town near the North Italian city of Udine. The plan arose, that Valter Sivilotti, an Italian composer, arranger and conductor, would make arrangements of a selection of Allan’s songs and conduct the orchestra for the concert. This concert took place in July, 2013.

When Günter Pauler of Stockfisch Records heard the demo live-recordings he enthusiasticly suggested to produce a SACD: Taylor together with a symphony orchestra! Pauler hired the “Göttinger Symphonie Orchester” with their agile conductor Christoph-Mathias Mueller; Valter Sivilotti and Taylor joined the recordings in Göttingen, and a very successful session was performed.

Allan Taylor writes about this record: “What you hear on this SACD is the product of great technical and artistic expertise on the part of Stockfisch Records. I wrote some of these songs many years ago, but I hope you enjoy the experience of hearing them in an orchestral setting. Certainly, Valter Sivilotti’s empathy with my songs has created some wonderful settings, and it was a privilege to work with such a creative and empathetic musician”.


01. Chimes at Midnight
02. For Those We Knew
03. Down the Years I Travelled…
04. For What It’s Worth
05. The Merlin Café
06. Provence
07. There Was a Time
08. Joseph
09. Win or Lose
10. Winter
11. Red on Green (Rosso su verde)
12. The Beggar (A pittima)

Allan Taylor – vocals and guitar
Lutz Möller – piano
Hans-Jörg Maucksch – fretless bass
Göttinger Symphonie Orchester
Christoph-Mathias Mueller – conductor

Recorded and Mixed by Günter Pauler.
Digital Editing, 5.1-Surround Mix & Mastering by Hans-Jörg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics.




%d bloggers like this: