Chet Atkins – Superpickers & Chet Atkins Picks The Best (1973-1967) [Reissue 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Chet Atkins – Superpickers & Chet Atkins Picks The Best (1973-1967) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 63:11 minutes | Scans included | 2,69 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,24 GB
2LP on 1SACD | Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # CDLK 4610

On Superpickers, Atkins joins together with an A-list of Nashville session musicians for a set of picking extravaganzas. The players make up a well-chosen band, and Atkins gives them plenty of space to solo on folk standards like “Mr. Bojangles” and “City of New Orleans,” as well as tunes that are just platforms for the many variations. Atkins himself is goaded into some wonderful playing as a result, and Superpickers is one of his best albums. Unfortunately, Picks on the Hits, originally released in the late summer of 1972, is one of those easy listening toss-offs, a collection of tunes that had been high in the pop charts recently, tarted out with strings and occasional choruses, with Atkins sticking his guitar in here and there.


01. Paramaribo
02. Fiddlin Around
03. Mr Bojangles
04. Beef and Biscuits
05. Sweet Dreams
06. Just Another Rag
07. Canadian Pacific
08. City of New Orleans
09. Bells of Saint Marys
10. Are You from Dixie
11. You ll Never Walk Alone
12. Lovely Weather
13. Insensatez How Insensitive
14. Colonel Bogey
15. Nuages
16. Anna El Negro Zumbon
17. Battle Hymn of the Republic
18. All theme from the film Run for Your Wife
19. El Paso
20. Tears
21. I Wish I Knew
22. Ay Ay Ay

Tracks “01-10” is “Superpickers” (LP ‘1973)
Tracks “11-22” is “Chet Atkins Picks the Best” (LP ‘1967)
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: